[svn.haxx.se] · SVN Dev · SVN Users · SVN Org · TSVN Dev · TSVN Users · Subclipse Dev · Subclipse Users · this month's index

Re: Merge of deleted file with a modified one

From: Ben Collins-Sussman <sussman_at_red-bean.com>
Date: 2006-01-11 20:26:50 CET

See issue 2282: http://subversion.tigris.org/issues/show_bug.cgi?id=2282

On 1/11/06, Alexey Yudichev <ayud@newmail.ru> wrote:
> Dear developers,
>
> Are there any thoughts/plans on changing subversion behaviour when
> merging a deletion to an existing file? Currently, subversion just
> deletes the file even if it has got modifications since last merge point.
> There have been a number of threads in users list, the last one being
> http://svn.haxx.se/users/archive-2006-01/0318.shtml. Most of people
> (well, all except one) agree that a conflict or a warning should be
> raised in this case.
>
> In short, if I
> 1) create a branch from trunk via svn copy
> 2) delete a file in branch and commit
> 3) modify the same file in trunk and commit
> 4) merge branch to trunk
> I get the file deleted. Which means I (silently) lose my changes made
> in trunk.
>
> It is noticed in the mentioned thread that CVS and Perforce do raise a
> warning/conflict in a similar case.
>
>
> ---------------------------------------------------------------------
> To unsubscribe, e-mail: dev-unsubscribe@subversion.tigris.org
> For additional commands, e-mail: dev-help@subversion.tigris.org
>
>

---------------------------------------------------------------------
To unsubscribe, e-mail: dev-unsubscribe@subversion.tigris.org
For additional commands, e-mail: dev-help@subversion.tigris.org
Received on Wed Jan 11 20:39:30 2006

This is an archived mail posted to the Subversion Dev mailing list.