[svn.haxx.se] · SVN Dev · SVN Users · SVN Org · TSVN Dev · TSVN Users · Subclipse Dev · Subclipse Users · this month's index

Merge of deleted file with a modified one

From: Alexey Yudichev <ayud_at_newmail.ru>
Date: 2006-01-11 20:04:41 CET

Dear developers,

Are there any thoughts/plans on changing subversion behaviour when
merging a deletion to an existing file? Currently, subversion just
deletes the file even if it has got modifications since last merge point.
There have been a number of threads in users list, the last one being
http://svn.haxx.se/users/archive-2006-01/0318.shtml. Most of people
(well, all except one) agree that a conflict or a warning should be
raised in this case.

In short, if I
1) create a branch from trunk via svn copy
2) delete a file in branch and commit
3) modify the same file in trunk and commit
4) merge branch to trunk
I get the file deleted. Which means I (silently) lose my changes made
in trunk.

It is noticed in the mentioned thread that CVS and Perforce do raise a
warning/conflict in a similar case.

---------------------------------------------------------------------
To unsubscribe, e-mail: dev-unsubscribe@subversion.tigris.org
For additional commands, e-mail: dev-help@subversion.tigris.org
Received on Wed Jan 11 20:20:10 2006

This is an archived mail posted to the Subversion Dev mailing list.