[svn.haxx.se] · SVN Dev · SVN Users · SVN Org · TSVN Dev · TSVN Users · Subclipse Dev · Subclipse Users · this month's index

Re[2]: Merge of deleted file with a modified one

From: Alexey Yudichev <ayud_at_newmail.ru>
Date: 2006-01-12 09:51:10 CET

> See issue 2282:
> http://subversion.tigris.org/issues/show_bug.cgi?id=2282
I know that merge that happens during "svn update" is different to the one
that happens during "svn merge". Does the enhancement 2282 include
improvement to the "svn merge" merging algorithm? The bug description
does not say anything about it.

> On 1/11/06, Alexey Yudichev <ayud@newmail.ru> wrote:
>> Dear developers,
>>
>> Are there any thoughts/plans on changing subversion behaviour when
>> merging a deletion to an existing file? Currently, subversion just
>> deletes the file even if it has got modifications since last merge point.
>> There have been a number of threads in users list, the last one being
>> http://svn.haxx.se/users/archive-2006-01/0318.shtml. Most of people
>> (well, all except one) agree that a conflict or a warning should be
>> raised in this case.
>>
>> In short, if I
>> 1) create a branch from trunk via svn copy
>> 2) delete a file in branch and commit
>> 3) modify the same file in trunk and commit
>> 4) merge branch to trunk
>> I get the file deleted. Which means I (silently) lose my changes made
>> in trunk.
>>
>> It is noticed in the mentioned thread that CVS and Perforce do raise a
>> warning/conflict in a similar case.

---------------------------------------------------------------------
To unsubscribe, e-mail: dev-unsubscribe@subversion.tigris.org
For additional commands, e-mail: dev-help@subversion.tigris.org
Received on Thu Jan 12 10:10:10 2006

This is an archived mail posted to the Subversion Dev mailing list.