[svn.haxx.se] · SVN Dev · SVN Users · SVN Org · TSVN Dev · TSVN Users · Subclipse Dev · Subclipse Users · this month's index

Re: Merge failure recovery

From: Stefan Küng <tortoisesvn_at_gmail.com>
Date: Tue, 07 Apr 2015 20:33:31 +0200

On 07.04.2015 08:55, Gavin Lambert wrote:
> Sometimes, due to unresolved conflicts (eg. when the user has
> selected "resolve later"), SVN aborts during a merge and requests
> that the user perform the merge again. Which is fair enough.

This happens when there's a conflict on a path, and then one of the next
revisions to merge need to apply a change to that (now conflicted) path.

> It would be nice however if TSVN made this a bit easier -- currently
> it forgets the entire merge (apart from what is left behind in the
> working copy) and forces the user to either separately record which
> specific revisions they wanted to merge, or to browse the log to find
> them again (which can take time, especially if you're cherry-picking
> relatively old or widely-separated commits).

Yes, I know. I've often wished it would remember the revision range that
was entered.

But: in most situations, the merge failed because either the revision
range or the merge url was wrong in the first place. That's why I never
implemented a 'remember' feature.

> A related issue is that the helpful "recent message" generated for
> the commit appears to only do so on successful merge completion. So
> a failed merge due to Resolve Later that is then resolved does not
> have this helper message. If the merge is then repeated excluding
> the already-merged commits (as these are now shown in grey) then the
> message only includes the remaining revisions, not the
> previously-merged ones.

If a merge fails for me, I usually revert the whole working copy before
trying the merge again.

> Perhaps the intended solution is simply to never click "Resolve
> later", instead to resolve everything as it comes up during the
> merge. But I was wondering if it would be more useful to bring up
> the Merge dialog again with the same settings on failure, similar to
> how a failure to commit will update and then return to the commit
> window with the same selections.

not quite as easy as it may seem. There's no guarantee that when the
merge dialog is opened again that it's opened on the same path or for
the same merge.

Stefan

-- 
        ___
   oo  // \\      "De Chelonian Mobile"
  (_,\/ \_/ \     TortoiseSVN
    \ \_/_\_/>    The coolest interface to (Sub)version control
    /_/   \_\     http://tortoisesvn.net
------------------------------------------------------
http://tortoisesvn.tigris.org/ds/viewMessage.do?dsForumId=4061&dsMessageId=3111323
To unsubscribe from this discussion, e-mail: [users-unsubscribe_at_tortoisesvn.tigris.org].
Received on 2015-04-07 20:33:35 CEST

This is an archived mail posted to the TortoiseSVN Users mailing list.