[svn.haxx.se] · SVN Dev · SVN Users · SVN Org · TSVN Dev · TSVN Users · Subclipse Dev · Subclipse Users · this month's index

Merge failure recovery

From: Gavin Lambert <colnet_at_mirality.co.nz>
Date: Mon, 6 Apr 2015 23:55:33 -0700 (PDT)

Sometimes, due to unresolved conflicts (eg. when the user has selected "resolve later"), SVN aborts during a merge and requests that the user perform the merge again. Which is fair enough.

It would be nice however if TSVN made this a bit easier -- currently it forgets the entire merge (apart from what is left behind in the working copy) and forces the user to either separately record which specific revisions they wanted to merge, or to browse the log to find them again (which can take time, especially if you're cherry-picking relatively old or widely-separated commits).

A related issue is that the helpful "recent message" generated for the commit appears to only do so on successful merge completion. So a failed merge due to Resolve Later that is then resolved does not have this helper message. If the merge is then repeated excluding the already-merged commits (as these are now shown in grey) then the message only includes the remaining revisions, not the previously-merged ones.

Perhaps the intended solution is simply to never click "Resolve later", instead to resolve everything as it comes up during the merge. But I was wondering if it would be more useful to bring up the Merge dialog again with the same settings on failure, similar to how a failure to commit will update and then return to the commit window with the same selections.

------------------------------------------------------
http://tortoisesvn.tigris.org/ds/viewMessage.do?dsForumId=4061&dsMessageId=3111143

To unsubscribe from this discussion, e-mail: [users-unsubscribe_at_tortoisesvn.tigris.org].
Received on 2015-04-07 08:55:41 CEST

This is an archived mail posted to the TortoiseSVN Users mailing list.