On 21.02.2014 17:08, Czarnek, Matt wrote:
> I'd like to report a feature I believe should be changed. I was working
> with TortoiseSVN yesterday and clicked on 'delete', I somehow thought it
> was telling it to simply delete that folder from the tortoise svn
> database, so it would stop backing it up.. but no, it meant actually
> delete the folder from my computer.
> Long story short, I lost about 10 days worth of work.
> My request would be that it at least display a pop-up that says 'Are you
> sure? This is going to actually remove this folder and all containing
> files from the computer' but also ideally stick everything in the
> recycling bin instead of totally and completely deleting it from the system
There are quite a few places in TSVN where you can delete stuff, so a
little bit more info would help here.
But just to clarify: TSVN never, ever deletes anything without asking or
leave you a way to retrieve the data again. Never!
* if you delete items from a dialog showing working copy items, you're
asked if you want to delete it first 1), and then the deleted items are
moved to the Windows trash bin where you can get them back 2).
* if you delete from the main explorer context menu using the
TSVN->Delete command, you can get those items back by doing a revert or
* if you delete items from the repository browser, you can get them back
using the log dialog or various other methods since those files are
still in the repository
1) on Win8, you're not asked if you want to delete as long as the
Windows trash bin is active and has enough room to hold those deleted
items. It's the same behavior as the Windows explorer.
2) of course if you have deactivated the Windows trash bin, then the
files won't be moved to the trash bin.
oo // \\ "De Chelonian Mobile"
(_,\/ \_/ \ TortoiseSVN
\ \_/_\_/> The coolest interface to (Sub)version control
/_/ \_\ http://tortoisesvn.net
To unsubscribe from this discussion, e-mail: [users-unsubscribe_at_tortoisesvn.tigris.org].
Received on 2014-02-21 17:50:57 CET