Did you ever check in the files? I assume you did because tortoise does
not give an option to 'delete' a directory unless you added it. You can
still recover them by reverting or updating to a previous revision if
they're in subversion. I would hope you made a commit within the past 10
For the future:
If they were previously checked in and you wanted to remove them from
svn, you should have selected "Unversion and add to ignore list.." This
removes it from subversion without deleting a local copy.
If it was never checked in, you should have selected "Undo Add" rather
I agree, though, a prompt to confirm deletion and moving it to the recycle
bin rather than completely wiping it out would be ideal. Though it
probably does not work this way because of the assumption that the files
you are deleting have already been committed and can be recovered via SVN.
On Fri, Feb 21, 2014 at 11:08 AM, Czarnek, Matt <mczarnek_at_objectvideo.com>wrote:
> I'd like to report a feature I believe should be changed. I was working
> with TortoiseSVN yesterday and clicked on 'delete', I somehow thought it
> was telling it to simply delete that folder from the tortoise svn database,
> so it would stop backing it up.. but no, it meant actually delete the
> folder from my computer.
> Long story short, I lost about 10 days worth of work.
> My request would be that it at least display a pop-up that says 'Are you
> sure? This is going to actually remove this folder and all containing files
> from the computer' but also ideally stick everything in the recycling bin
> instead of totally and completely deleting it from the system
> Thank you,
> Matt Czarnek, Software Engineer
> Work Phone: (703) 654-9300x650
> Cell Phone: (814) 421-6770
> ObjectVideo Inc.
To unsubscribe from this discussion, e-mail: [users-unsubscribe_at_tortoisesvn.tigris.org].
Received on 2014-02-21 17:40:54 CET