[svn.haxx.se] · SVN Dev · SVN Users · SVN Org · TSVN Dev · TSVN Users · Subclipse Dev · Subclipse Users · this month's index

Merge - Show Log - Revision numbers - confusion

From: <jdege_at_korterra.com>
Date: Mon, 30 Jun 2008 15:45:50 -0700 (PDT)

I'm using TortoiseSVN 1.4.8, on Windows XP, and I can't for the life
of me understand why the Show log button works the way it does, when
called from the Merge dialog.

I have a project, I've made some changes on a branch, I want to merge
them to the trunk. I checkout the trunk into a directory tree on my
local machine, then with Windows Explorer open on the top directory of
the project, I right-click and select "Merge" from the TortoiseSVN
menu. I get the Merge dialog.

I click on the Repo Browser button in the "From:" section of the
dialog, and it brings up the Repo Browser. I navigate to highlight
the branch I want, and click OK. The "From:" URL textbox is populated
with the URL of the branch I had selected. No problems so far.

I click on the "Show logs" button the "From:" section of the dialog,
and it brings up the logs dialog, with the window title "Select
revision range - <branch name>". I check the "Stop on copy/rename"
button at the bottom of the dialog, and I see the log messages for
this branch, since I first copied the trunk to create this branch.

How here's my confusion. I'm seeing three log messages:
* Rev 117 "Another change to 40"
* Rev. 116 "Made changes in release 40"
* Rev. 74 "Copied Remotely"

What I would expect to happen is that if I selected only one revision,
and clicked OK, I'd have the From: revision field populated with the
revision I selected, and the To: revision field set to HEAD. And if I
selected a range of revisions, I'd have the From: revision field
populated with the lower revision and the To: revision field populated
with the higher revision. But that's not what happens.

What does happen is that the From: revision field is set to one lower
than the revision number of the revision I've selected. And I'm not
sure understand the reason for this. Depending upon which revisions I
select, I see these filled with Revision 73 or 115, neither of which
are revisions on this branch.

If I've already merged revision 74, should not my from: revision be
74, instead of 115?

(Also, has anyone noticed that the "Stop on copy/rename" checkbox is
broken? Once it's checked, unchecking it or rechecking has no
effect.)

---------------------------------------------------------------------
To unsubscribe, e-mail: users-unsubscribe_at_tortoisesvn.tigris.org
For additional commands, e-mail: users-help_at_tortoisesvn.tigris.org
Received on 2008-07-01 07:04:18 CEST

This is an archived mail posted to the TortoiseSVN Users mailing list.