[svn.haxx.se] · SVN Dev · SVN Users · SVN Org · TSVN Dev · TSVN Users · Subclipse Dev · Subclipse Users · this month's index

Re: Merge - Show Log - Revision numbers - confusion

From: Simon Large <simon.tortoisesvn_at_googlemail.com>
Date: Tue, 1 Jul 2008 10:39:43 +0100

2008/6/30 jdege_at_korterra.com <jdege_at_jdege.visi.com>:
> I'm using TortoiseSVN 1.4.8, on Windows XP, and I can't for the life
> of me understand why the Show log button works the way it does, when
> called from the Merge dialog.
<snip>
> How here's my confusion. I'm seeing three log messages:
> * Rev 117 "Another change to 40"
> * Rev. 116 "Made changes in release 40"
> * Rev. 74 "Copied Remotely"
>
> What I would expect to happen is that if I selected only one revision,
> and clicked OK, I'd have the From: revision field populated with the
> revision I selected, and the To: revision field set to HEAD. And if I
> selected a range of revisions, I'd have the From: revision field
> populated with the lower revision and the To: revision field populated
> with the higher revision. But that's not what happens.
>
> What does happen is that the From: revision field is set to one lower
> than the revision number of the revision I've selected. And I'm not
> sure understand the reason for this. Depending upon which revisions I
> select, I see these filled with Revision 73 or 115, neither of which
> are revisions on this branch.
>
> If I've already merged revision 74, should not my from: revision be
> 74, instead of 115?

It could be, but it would make no difference since there were no
changes on that branch between r74 and r115. The reasoning behind this
is explained in the help file. Essentially you are asking subversion
to create a diff between 2 revisions in your branch and apply that
diff to trunk. So if you select r116 you want your diff to include
only the changes made in r116. The easiest way to do that is to take
the diff between r115 and r116 (remember that although no changes were
made in r115, the branch still exists in r115 in the same state as
when it was created in r74).

BTW the merge dialog has been rewritten completely in 1.5. You may (or
may not) find it more intuitive.

> (Also, has anyone noticed that the "Stop on copy/rename" checkbox is
> broken? Once it's checked, unchecking it or rechecking has no
> effect.)

Is that still broken in 1.5?

Simon

-- 
: ___
: oo // \\ "De Chelonian Mobile"
: (_,\/ \_/ \ TortoiseSVN
: \ \_/_\_/> The coolest Interface to (Sub)Version Control
: /_/ \_\ http://tortoisesvn.net
---------------------------------------------------------------------
To unsubscribe, e-mail: users-unsubscribe_at_tortoisesvn.tigris.org
For additional commands, e-mail: users-help_at_tortoisesvn.tigris.org
Received on 2008-07-01 11:39:50 CEST

This is an archived mail posted to the TortoiseSVN Users mailing list.