[svn.haxx.se] · SVN Dev · SVN Users · SVN Org · TSVN Dev · TSVN Users · Subclipse Dev · Subclipse Users · this month's index

Re: Migrating Subversion issues to ...

From: Greg Stein <gstein_at_gmail.com>
Date: Wed, 16 Sep 2015 16:12:30 -0500

Could I offer an opinion: the time stamps DO NOT MATTER.

If a comment was posted at 15:00 or at 21:00 ... I don't care. If it was a
Monday or a Tuesday ... I don't care. I believe I'd rather stick a fork in
my eye, than ask somebody to spend even 5 minutes on timestamps.

Cheers,
-g

On Wed, Sep 16, 2015 at 11:14 AM, Julian Foad <julianfoad_at_btopenworld.com>
wrote:

> Ivan Zhakov wrote:
> > Julian Foad wrote:
> >> The time zone offset appears not to be handled correctly in converting
> >> time stamps (on Dates: Created, Updated; and on Comments).
> >>
> >> # http://subversion.tigris.org/issues/show_bug.cgi?id=1532
> >> Opened: Tue Sep 23 10:02:00 -0700 2003
> >> ------- Additional comments from Peter N. Lundblad Thu Jan 12 05:42:25
> >> -0700 2006 -------
> >> ------- Additional comments from Peter N. Lundblad Tue May 2 02:21:02
> >> -0700 2006 -------
> >> ------- Additional comments from Julian Foad Tue Feb 17 09:41:24 -0700
> >> 2015 -------
> >>
> >> # http://subversion.tigris.org/issues/xml.cgi?id=1532
> >> <creation_ts>2003-09-23 10:02:50</creation_ts>
> >> <who>lundblad</who><issue_when>2006-01-12 04:42:25</issue_when>
> >> <who>lundblad</who><issue_when>2006-05-02 02:21:02</issue_when>
> >> <user>julianfoad</user><when>2015-02-17 08:41:24</when>
> >>
> >> # https://issues.apache.org/jira/browse/SVN-1532
> >> Created: 23/Sep/03 11:02
> >> Updated: 17/Feb/15 08:41
> >> Subversion Importer added a comment - 12/Jan/06 04:42
> >> Subversion Importer added a comment - 02/May/06 03:21
> >>
> >> The time zone in my Jira profile is set to London (GMT+00), and
> >> probably assumes something about how to display local times in BST
> >> (GMT+01).
> >
> > It should be fixed now. Please note that issue tracker on tigris.org
> > displays time always in (-0700) timezone, while JIRA display in
> > user-configured timezone.
>
> That's closer, but not correct. I checked some issue notification
> emails to be sure.
>
> The time stamps in the PDT portion of any year are now converted
> correctly, but the time stamps in the PST (UTC-0800) portion of any
> year are now converted to one hour less than the correct value.
>
> I think the XML export from Tigris expresses a timestamp using PDT
> (UTC-0700) if the timestamp date is in the PDT portion of the year,
> and using PST (UTC-0800) if the timestamp date is in the PST portion
> of the year. I guess you assumed they are all in PDT?
>
> I do not know exactly what algorithm the Tigris export uses for "PDT
> portion of the year". However, the normal HTML view on Tigris is
> (currently) displaying all timestamps as PDT (UTC-0700).
>
> In issue #4594, Bert commented at:
> = 15:58 CEST (UTC+0200) (personally confirmed)
> = 14:58 BST (UTC+0100)
> = 13:58 UTC
> = 06:58 PDT (UTC-0700)
>
> => For a time stamp made today (in the DST portion of the year),
> IssueZilla now reports it in PDT in both HTML (labeled as "(+0700)")
> and XML views (unlabeled).
>
> => For a time stamp made in the DST portion of any year, I assume the same.
>
> Julian's comment on issue #1532
> <
> http://permalink.gmane.org/gmane.comp.version-control.subversion.issues/27552
> >
> = 2015-02-17 16:41:24 GMT (header of notification email from Tigris)
> = Tue Feb 17 08:41:24 -0800 2015 (in notification email from Tigris)
>
> => For a time stamp made in the winter portion of any year, Tigris
> currently (in DST) reports one hour greater in HTML (still labeled as
> "(+0700)") than in XML (unlabeled).
> => The XML is therefore reporting the time as PST (UTC-0800) and I
> would guess the HTML is reporting it as Tigris local time (currently
> UTC-0700).
>
> - Julian
>
Received on 2015-09-16 23:12:49 CEST

This is an archived mail posted to the Subversion Dev mailing list.