[svn.haxx.se] · SVN Dev · SVN Users · SVN Org · TSVN Dev · TSVN Users · Subclipse Dev · Subclipse Users · this month's index

Re: Migrating Subversion issues to ...

From: Julian Foad <julianfoad_at_btopenworld.com>
Date: Wed, 16 Sep 2015 18:14:28 +0200

Ivan Zhakov wrote:
> Julian Foad wrote:
>> The time zone offset appears not to be handled correctly in converting
>> time stamps (on Dates: Created, Updated; and on Comments).
>>
>> # http://subversion.tigris.org/issues/show_bug.cgi?id=1532
>> Opened: Tue Sep 23 10:02:00 -0700 2003
>> ------- Additional comments from Peter N. Lundblad Thu Jan 12 05:42:25
>> -0700 2006 -------
>> ------- Additional comments from Peter N. Lundblad Tue May 2 02:21:02
>> -0700 2006 -------
>> ------- Additional comments from Julian Foad Tue Feb 17 09:41:24 -0700
>> 2015 -------
>>
>> # http://subversion.tigris.org/issues/xml.cgi?id=1532
>> <creation_ts>2003-09-23 10:02:50</creation_ts>
>> <who>lundblad</who><issue_when>2006-01-12 04:42:25</issue_when>
>> <who>lundblad</who><issue_when>2006-05-02 02:21:02</issue_when>
>> <user>julianfoad</user><when>2015-02-17 08:41:24</when>
>>
>> # https://issues.apache.org/jira/browse/SVN-1532
>> Created: 23/Sep/03 11:02
>> Updated: 17/Feb/15 08:41
>> Subversion Importer added a comment - 12/Jan/06 04:42
>> Subversion Importer added a comment - 02/May/06 03:21
>>
>> The time zone in my Jira profile is set to London (GMT+00), and
>> probably assumes something about how to display local times in BST
>> (GMT+01).
>
> It should be fixed now. Please note that issue tracker on tigris.org
> displays time always in (-0700) timezone, while JIRA display in
> user-configured timezone.

That's closer, but not correct. I checked some issue notification
emails to be sure.

The time stamps in the PDT portion of any year are now converted
correctly, but the time stamps in the PST (UTC-0800) portion of any
year are now converted to one hour less than the correct value.

I think the XML export from Tigris expresses a timestamp using PDT
(UTC-0700) if the timestamp date is in the PDT portion of the year,
and using PST (UTC-0800) if the timestamp date is in the PST portion
of the year. I guess you assumed they are all in PDT?

I do not know exactly what algorithm the Tigris export uses for "PDT
portion of the year". However, the normal HTML view on Tigris is
(currently) displaying all timestamps as PDT (UTC-0700).

In issue #4594, Bert commented at:
= 15:58 CEST (UTC+0200) (personally confirmed)
= 14:58 BST (UTC+0100)
= 13:58 UTC
= 06:58 PDT (UTC-0700)

=> For a time stamp made today (in the DST portion of the year),
IssueZilla now reports it in PDT in both HTML (labeled as "(+0700)")
and XML views (unlabeled).

=> For a time stamp made in the DST portion of any year, I assume the same.

Julian's comment on issue #1532
<http://permalink.gmane.org/gmane.comp.version-control.subversion.issues/27552>
= 2015-02-17 16:41:24 GMT (header of notification email from Tigris)
= Tue Feb 17 08:41:24 -0800 2015 (in notification email from Tigris)

=> For a time stamp made in the winter portion of any year, Tigris
currently (in DST) reports one hour greater in HTML (still labeled as
"(+0700)") than in XML (unlabeled).
=> The XML is therefore reporting the time as PST (UTC-0800) and I
would guess the HTML is reporting it as Tigris local time (currently
UTC-0700).

- Julian
Received on 2015-09-16 18:15:11 CEST

This is an archived mail posted to the Subversion Dev mailing list.