[svn.haxx.se] · SVN Dev · SVN Users · SVN Org · TSVN Dev · TSVN Users · Subclipse Dev · Subclipse Users · this month's index

Re: What happens on a checkout

From: john <jsparrow_at_ecclescollege.ac.uk>
Date: 2006-09-12 23:55:13 CEST

Bob Butterworth <BButterworth <at> techpro.com> writes:

> I'm left with 3
> working copies. Can I remove them? Does the server store something and wait
for a file to be checked back in if it's checked out?

Hi Bob,

You really should read the SVN manual - it explains all this stuff! but
basically, yes you can delete your working copies (make sure you don't have any
uncommitted changes in the WC first, of course!). You can delete the .svn
folders too.

The only residue you could leave on the server would be locks (generally only
used to serialize edits on un-mergable files, like Word docs). If you're left
with locks you can always 'break' them - ie delete them direct in the repository
using 'svn unlock'.

If you're a real beginner it's unlikely you have aquired any locks. 'svn st' on
the working copy will tell you. Try 'svn st -?' for help.

If you're a Windows user, try TortoiseSVN it's great.

John

---------------------------------------------------------------------
To unsubscribe, e-mail: users-unsubscribe@subversion.tigris.org
For additional commands, e-mail: users-help@subversion.tigris.org
Received on Tue Sep 12 23:57:38 2006

This is an archived mail posted to the Subversion Users mailing list.