[svn.haxx.se] · SVN Dev · SVN Users · SVN Org · TSVN Dev · TSVN Users · Subclipse Dev · Subclipse Users · this month's index

Re: replacement to cvs release?

From: Phil Endecott <spam_from_subversion_users_at_chezphil.org>
Date: 2006-02-28 12:15:05 CET
('binary' encoding is not supported, stored as-is) "Lars Heineken" <lars.heineken@diasemi.com> wrote:
> I don't know CVS's release command.

It is no related to "releases" of a project. From the man page:

release
   Indicate that a Module is no longer in use
       o release [-d] directories...

       o Requires: Working directory.

       o Changes: Working directory, history log.

         This command is meant to safely cancel the effect of cvs checkout.
         Since cvs doesn't lock files, it isn't strictly necessary to use this
         command. You can always simply delete your working directory, if you
         like; but you risk losing changes you may have forgotten, and you
         leave no trace in the cvs history file (see node `history file' in
         the CVS manual) that you've abandoned your checkout.

         Use cvs release to avoid these problems. This command checks that no
         uncommitted changes are present; that you are executing it from imme-
         diately above a cvs working directory; and that the repository
         recorded for your files is the same as the repository defined in the
         module database.

         If all these conditions are true, cvs release leaves a record of its
         execution (attesting to your intentionally abandoning your checkout)
         in the cvs history log.

release options
       The release command supports one command option:

       -d

         Delete your working copy of the file if the release succeeds. If
         this flag is not given your files will remain in your working direc-
         tory.

         WARNING: The release command deletes all directories and files
         recursively. This has the very serious side-effect that any direc-
         tory that you have created inside your checked-out sources, and not
         added to the repository (using the add command; see node `Adding
         files' in the CVS manual) will be silently deleted--even if it is
         non-empty!

--Phil.

---------------------------------------------------------------------
To unsubscribe, e-mail: users-unsubscribe@subversion.tigris.org
For additional commands, e-mail: users-help@subversion.tigris.org
Received on Tue Feb 28 10:41:55 2006

This is an archived mail posted to the Subversion Users mailing list.