[svn.haxx.se] · SVN Dev · SVN Users · SVN Org · TSVN Dev · TSVN Users · Subclipse Dev · Subclipse Users · this month's index

Re: Committing before updating

From: Toby Johnson <toby_at_etjohnson.us>
Date: 2005-01-28 21:29:33 CET

Edward Diener wrote:

>If I commit changes to a file before doing an update on that file, do my
>changes automatically overwrite anybody else's changes to that file which
>occurred since my last update ?
>
>
No, Subversion will not let you commit a file if someone else has
committed since you last checked out or updated. Subversion places a
very high value on your data and will never, ever automatically
overwrite or delete anything. Actions which potentially lose data (such
as reverting a file that you have modified) require you to explicitly
specify that is what you want to do.

---------------------------------------------------------------------
To unsubscribe, e-mail: users-unsubscribe@subversion.tigris.org
For additional commands, e-mail: users-help@subversion.tigris.org
Received on Fri Jan 28 21:32:12 2005

This is an archived mail posted to the Subversion Users mailing list.