[svn.haxx.se] · SVN Dev · SVN Users · SVN Org · TSVN Dev · TSVN Users · Subclipse Dev · Subclipse Users · this month's index

Re: Forever deleting something from repo

From: Ben Collins-Sussman <sussman_at_collab.net>
Date: 2004-11-03 16:52:34 CET

On Nov 3, 2004, at 9:13 AM, Martin Struwe wrote:

> Ben Collins-Sussman wrote, On 03.11.2004 04:25:
>> On Nov 2, 2004, at 9:00 AM, Alex R. Mosteo wrote:
>>> Hi,
>>>
>>> I see a FAQ entry about some future "svnadmin obliterate". It says
>>> it's a post-1.0 feature. Since I don't see any hint to this in the
>>> roadmap, I want to ask: has this been totally put aside? Or is still
>>> somewhere [estimation?] down the road?
>> It's not scheduled yet, but still a long-term goal. See issue 516.
>
> If I have a password in my repository, I need a Solution now
> for 1.0.9.
> Can I move the the old Version in a protected Subdirectory, so
> that nobody can view the wrong commit?
>

Use 'svnadmin dump', 'svndumpfilter', and 'svnadmin load' to rebuild a
new repository. The book discusses this in chapter 5. That's the only
way to make history disappear.

---------------------------------------------------------------------
To unsubscribe, e-mail: users-unsubscribe@subversion.tigris.org
For additional commands, e-mail: users-help@subversion.tigris.org
Received on Wed Nov 3 16:53:16 2004

This is an archived mail posted to the Subversion Users mailing list.