[svn.haxx.se] · SVN Dev · SVN Users · SVN Org · TSVN Dev · TSVN Users · Subclipse Dev · Subclipse Users · this month's index

Updating involving deleted/moved directories

From: Jack Ivey <ivey_at_altair.com>
Date: 2004-03-16 16:35:16 CET

Hi all,
I've run up against a problem when updating a working area after
a directory has been moved. If the client finds any files
that are not under version control, it stops in the middle
with an error message. If you run update again, the command
runs to completion, (unless another non-version-controlled file
is hit).

If you keep running update until it completes, you end up with
all the non-version-controlled files left where they were,
and the version-controlled files in the new location.

We have all sorts of files not under version control and it's a
real nuisance to clean them out before you do an update or to
have to run update 20 or 30 times.

My question is, why do I have to run the update multiple
times to get this to happen? Shouldn't the behavior be:
- Move the version-controlled files to the new location
- Leave non-version-controlled files where they were
- Give a warning message saying that's that what happened.

Why the error?

Thanks,
Jack

---------------------------------------------------------------------
To unsubscribe, e-mail: users-unsubscribe@subversion.tigris.org
For additional commands, e-mail: users-help@subversion.tigris.org
Received on Tue Mar 16 16:35:45 2004

This is an archived mail posted to the Subversion Users mailing list.