[svn.haxx.se] · SVN Dev · SVN Users · SVN Org · TSVN Dev · TSVN Users · Subclipse Dev · Subclipse Users · this month's index

Re: Clicking resolved button removes content from WC

From: Stefan Küng <tortoisesvn_at_gmail.com>
Date: Mon, 2 Nov 2015 21:06:41 +0100

On 23.10.2015 12:24, Stefan Hett wrote:
> Hi,
>
> Steps to reproduce:
> 1. Merge some revision into a trunk/branch with a text-conflict.
> 2. In the pop-up select: "Edit Conflict".
> 3. When the merge tool opens, just close it
> 4. Click on the "Resolved" button
>
> Actual result:
> The resulting file in the working copy is empty
>
> Expected result:
> Either it should not be possible to click the Resolved button if there
> are still conflict markers in the file at all or if you can click it, at
> least do not modify the file (and remove all its contest).

Well, how would TSVN know whether you saved changes from the external
merge tool?

> Alternatively it could also be acceptable to keep the local working copy
> file.
>
> Tested with 1.9.2, but we also get reports from users in our company of
> the same problem (files are empty after resolving conflicts) using 1.8.12.

Improved the situation in r26952.
But really: if you lie to TSVN by telling it that you resolved the
conflict but actually didn't, you can't expect it to work properly.

Stefan

-- 
        ___
   oo  // \\      "De Chelonian Mobile"
  (_,\/ \_/ \     TortoiseSVN
    \ \_/_\_/>    The coolest interface to (Sub)version control
    /_/   \_\     http://tortoisesvn.net
------------------------------------------------------
http://tortoisesvn.tigris.org/ds/viewMessage.do?dsForumId=4061&dsMessageId=3145083
To unsubscribe from this discussion, e-mail: [users-unsubscribe_at_tortoisesvn.tigris.org].
Received on 2015-11-02 21:07:00 CET

This is an archived mail posted to the TortoiseSVN Users mailing list.