[svn.haxx.se] · SVN Dev · SVN Users · SVN Org · TSVN Dev · TSVN Users · Subclipse Dev · Subclipse Users · this month's index

Re: Re: editing in repo browser file lost

From: Simon Large <simon.tortoisesvn_at_gmail.com>
Date: Wed, 6 May 2015 13:11:47 +0100

On 6 May 2015 at 12:57, Haron Zatari <har00ntoz_at_gmail.com> wrote:

> Hello Stefan,
>
> following use case user want to change a file.
> After he changes his file saved and closed the file, the commit window
> appears. But the commit fails and user close afterwards the Repo browser
> not knowing that his file is deleted now. The two hours work is gone.
>
> Is there any option to deactivate that the temporal file is deleted after
> canceling the commit and closing the repo browser?
>
> I know this option is kind of stupid but there are always user with more
> stupid behavior.
>

We're not too keen on adding stupid options ;-)

Is the deleted file in the recycle bin? If it is not then maybe the
behaviour can be changed to move the temp file there, but in general temp
files should always be deleted. You get the same behaviour if you open an
attachment in your email client and edit it. You're editing a temp file and
when you go to look for it later it's not there.

This option is intended for making quick changes. If you are going to do 2
hours editing on a file then you really don't want to be working on a temp
file. Make a proper checkout.

Simon

------------------------------------------------------
http://tortoisesvn.tigris.org/ds/viewMessage.do?dsForumId=4061&dsMessageId=3116035

To unsubscribe from this discussion, e-mail: [users-unsubscribe_at_tortoisesvn.tigris.org].
Received on 2015-05-06 14:12:12 CEST

This is an archived mail posted to the TortoiseSVN Users mailing list.