[svn.haxx.se] · SVN Dev · SVN Users · SVN Org · TSVN Dev · TSVN Users · Subclipse Dev · Subclipse Users · this month's index

RE: Re: issues with merge depth

From: walter klust <wklust_at_elego.de>
Date: Thu, 31 Jan 2013 03:05:40 -0800 (PST)

> On 30.01.2013 17:11, walter klust wrote:
> >> On 01.07.2011 14:37, walter klust wrote:
> >>>> On 30.06.2011 17:29, walter klust wrote:
> >>>>> I tested today with 21633:
> >>>>>
> >>>>> create branch, add hierarchy to branch, commit, merge back to trunk, commit only top directory and file
> >>>>>
> >>>>> I now get the warning that the commit is always recursively which is quite helpful.
> >>>>>
> >>>>> But it got me thinking: The intention of the user is to commit only a few files. He now gets a warning but the full commit happened anyway. Wouldnt it be better if the user gets a warning before the commit and then can choose if he wants to commit anyway ?
> >>>>>
> >>>>> My suggestion for the workflow:
> >>>>>
> >>>>> - user starts commit
> >>>>> - tsvn detects that not all elements of the hierarchy were selected but that a recursive commit would happen because its a copy.
> >>>>> - tsvn then opens a dialogue with the warning and gives the user the choice of either cancelling the commit or doing it anyway.
> >>>>>
> >>>>> What do you think?
> >>>>
> >>>> How about: instead of showing the warning as we do now, show it as a
> >>>> message box with buttons to proceed or cancel the ongoing commit?
> >>>> Would be easier to implement, but of course a commit could be
> >>>> interrupted by a dialog - which is a downside...
> >>>>
> >>>
> >>> This message box would be great.
> >>>
> >>> If users have a problem with interrupted commits: This could be solved by adding a parameter which turns this message box on or off: Settings->General->Dialogs 2->Commit: Checkbox: "Do not show warning on nonrecursive commit on a copy"
> >>
> >> Implemented a message box before the actual commit in r21656.
> >>
> >> Stefan
> >
> > The message box seems to be missing with TSVN 1.7.11 r23600
> >
> > It was there at least until TSVN 1.7.3
>
> Nope, it wasn't.
>

Yes its was :-)

Please find a screenshot attached where you can see it using TSVN 1.7.4
Starting with TSVN 1.7.5 this message box is missing. I validated this by testing several TSVN versions today using the same process (trying to commit parts of a merged branch)

As far as i remember this feature was added to an unoffical 1.6.99 version which then became the 1.7 line.

------------------------------------------------------
http://tortoisesvn.tigris.org/ds/viewMessage.do?dsForumId=4061&dsMessageId=3046902

To unsubscribe from this discussion, e-mail: [users-unsubscribe_at_tortoisesvn.tigris.org].
Received on 2013-01-31 12:05:44 CET

This is an archived mail posted to the TortoiseSVN Users mailing list.