[svn.haxx.se] · SVN Dev · SVN Users · SVN Org · TSVN Dev · TSVN Users · Subclipse Dev · Subclipse Users · this month's index

[Bug report] : Documentation "4.14.1. Deleting files and folders"

From: walter klust <wklust_at_elego.de>
Date: Mon, 14 May 2012 08:20:09 -0700 (PDT)

With 1.6.x a svn delete <folder> would keep the folder itself in the working copy (until commit).

With svn 1.7.x the behaviour changed; a svn delete <folder> now will immediately delete the folder in the working copy.

Same goes for the delete command in TortoiseSVN.

However the documentation was not updated accordingly.

Section 4.14.1. Deleting files and folders states:

"When you TortoiseSVN → Delete a folder, it remains in your working copy, but the overlay changes to indicate that it is marked for deletion."

This is not true anymore for 1.7.x: After delete there is no longer a folder in the working copy; so no overlay changes to that folder can indicate the deletion.

The documentation of TortoiseSVN should be updated accordingly.

Reference to that change is svn issue 3468

------------------------------------------------------
http://tortoisesvn.tigris.org/ds/viewMessage.do?dsForumId=4061&dsMessageId=2960523

To unsubscribe from this discussion, e-mail: [users-unsubscribe_at_tortoisesvn.tigris.org].
Received on 2012-05-14 17:20:11 CEST

This is an archived mail posted to the TortoiseSVN Users mailing list.