[svn.haxx.se] · SVN Dev · SVN Users · SVN Org · TSVN Dev · TSVN Users · Subclipse Dev · Subclipse Users · this month's index

scammy-looking ads on http://tortoisesvn.net/

From: Michael Kohne <mhkohne_at_kohne.org>
Date: Mon, 2 Apr 2012 06:17:41 -0700 (PDT)

Apologies if this is a bit off-topic, but could find no better list to post it on.

I hit http://tortoisesvn.net/ this morning to grab the clients, and the ads that I got were for the scammy-sounding 'zoom downloader'. The ads were a picture of a big green button that says 'download', with a notation off to the side that it's for zoom downloader. Being new to the site, had I been slightly less caffeinated, I could easily have mistakenly thought they were the proper download links and clicked on them!

Is there a way to get the ad service to be a little more selective in the ads they serve? I hate to see these kinds of scammy ads poping up on good sites like http://tortoisesvn.net/.

Thanks! I've attached a screen shot of the ad, and I have the URL for it if that's helpful to anyone in filtering it out.


To unsubscribe from this discussion, e-mail: [users-unsubscribe_at_tortoisesvn.tigris.org].
Received on 2012-04-03 04:20:03 CEST

This is an archived mail posted to the TortoiseSVN Users mailing list.

This site is subject to the Apache Privacy Policy and the Apache Public Forum Archive Policy.