[svn.haxx.se] · SVN Dev · SVN Users · SVN Org · TSVN Dev · TSVN Users · Subclipse Dev · Subclipse Users · this month's index

Checkout/Commit/Discard workflow

From: Brian Smither <bhsmither_at_gmail.com>
Date: Mon, 27 Sep 2010 14:30:07 -0600

I have checked out two individual files and want to checkout a third individual file.

According to TortoiseSVN Help (2010/03/31 16:00:35 (r19115)), "Checking Out a Working Copy":

"In the repository browser, Right click on the checked out folder, then use TortoiseSVN -> Repo-Browser to bring up the repository browser. Find the sub-folder you would like to add to your working copy, then use [Context menu] -> [Update item to revision...] That menu will only be visible if the selected item does not exist yet in your working copy, but the parent item does exist."

==Quibbles==
1. Need the first sentence fixed.
2. Do not style "Context Menu" the same as a list item in the Context Menu.

In the Repository Browser, the context menu list item "Update item to revision" needs "..." to signify a dialog will ask for more info.
============

In the Repository Browser, I right-click on the file I want and on the context menu I click [Update item to revision]. In the Update dialog window, I accept the settings by clicking OK. The Update Finished dialog pops up and I click OK. That one file shows up in the correct folder within my (local, sparse) working copy - folder hierarchy created as required. I make some non-trivial changes to that file.

I right-click the edited file in the working copy and on the context menu select [SVN Commit...]. In the Commit dialog window, I add a comment and click OK. The Commit Finished dialog window pops up and I click OK. The file got committed.

What I need now is a [Discard this] function. I no longer desire to keep that file in my working copy, but I simply cannot discard the folder hierarchy. NOTE: I do not want to SVN -> Delete the file as that deletes the file within the next revision.

Help, "Deleting files and folders" has two paragraphs that discuss if a file or folder is deleted via the explorer. Update replaces the file and my working copy is broken for the folder.

As has been asked numerous times before...

How do I perform a local file delete?

...that will convince the ".svn system" (that is, the tracking data maintained inside the working copy's .svn folders) that the working copy file and ONLY the working copy file and NOTHING ELSE is to be considered as discarded as opoosed to declaring it missing? (Again, NOTE: As opposed to an SVN -> Delete since I do not want the Repository-managed file deleted.)

(Local) TortoiseSVN 1.6.10.19898 and (Remote Server) SVN 1.6.12 Win32.

I have read the TortoiseSVN Help file, the Red-Beans book, and scanned several forums for an answer.

------------------------------------------------------
http://tortoisesvn.tigris.org/ds/viewMessage.do?dsForumId=4061&dsMessageId=2665297

To unsubscribe from this discussion, e-mail: [users-unsubscribe_at_tortoisesvn.tigris.org].
Received on 2010-09-27 22:32:05 CEST

This is an archived mail posted to the TortoiseSVN Users mailing list.