[svn.haxx.se] · SVN Dev · SVN Users · SVN Org · TSVN Dev · TSVN Users · Subclipse Dev · Subclipse Users · this month's index

Re: Reverting may delete files

From: Andy Levy <andy.levy_at_gmail.com>
Date: Mon, 5 Jan 2009 07:22:16 -0500

On Mon, Jan 5, 2009 at 06:33, Jan Normann Nielsen <spam_at_dubbekarl.dk> wrote:
> Hi
>
> In some cases, reverting an added file may cause the file to be deleted.
> My scenario is as following: In a certain folder, I have an added file
> and a changed file in a sub folder.
>
> C:\data\my-wc\common>svn status
> ? test.txt
> M taglibs\my-taglib.tld
>
> When choosing "check for modifications" in TSVN on the "common" folder,
> both files show up. Selecting them both and choosing "revert" reverts
> the changed file and deletes the added file and puts in the trashcan. In
> my opinion, TSVN should have left the added file as unversioned.

test.txt is not Added. It's Unknown. Had you actually added that file,
its status would show A.

> The bug is definitely there, but due to disclosure at my company, I
> cannot send a copy of my wc. I've tried to reproduce the bug using a
> very simple local test repository setup, but TSVN doesn't delete the
> file in that case. I hope you are able to fix the bug using my
> description above anyway.

If you can't give an exact reproduction recipe, the developers can't
research the "bug". "Full reproduction recipe" includes telling us
what version of TSVN you're using, and your OS.

 Revert should be done by the Subversion libraries, meaning that if
this were a true bug, it would have been seen/found by someone by now
and fixed.

------------------------------------------------------
http://tortoisesvn.tigris.org/ds/viewMessage.do?dsForumId=4061&dsMessageId=1005074

To unsubscribe from this discussion, e-mail: [users-unsubscribe_at_tortoisesvn.tigris.org].
Received on 2009-01-05 13:22:30 CET

This is an archived mail posted to the TortoiseSVN Users mailing list.