[svn.haxx.se] · SVN Dev · SVN Users · SVN Org · TSVN Dev · TSVN Users · Subclipse Dev · Subclipse Users · this month's index

Re: Inadvertently deleted a folder

From: Tigger <mccreath_at_bigfoot.com>
Date: Wed, 12 Mar 2008 12:22:16 +1030

"Andy Levy" <andy.levy_at_gmail.com> wrote in
message news:b26be6d90803110451r7242a25du63d840523426ceb8_at_mail.gmail.com...
> On Tue, Mar 11, 2008 at 4:13 AM, Tigger
> <mccreath_at_bigfoot.com> wrote:
>> I just committed quite a large update. I glanced over the change list and
>> all looked fine, then clicked ok and went for a coffee.
>>
>> I came back to see that the commit had changed its mind, and instead of
>> doing all the shown updates, it was deleting the folder they were all
>> countained in!!!!
>>
>> Cancel did not work, so I ended up doing a commit that deleted a whole
>> developement area!!!
>>
>> Luckily it did not remove the files from my local copy so I'm currenlty
>> going throught the process of exporting, deleting, cleaning,
>> re-importing to
>> get things close to what they were.
>
> Don't do this. You'll break you history. Instead do this:
> http://svnbook.red-bean.com/en/1.4/svn.branchmerge.commonuses.html#svn.branchmerge.commonuses.resurrect
>

The process I followed in the end (to keep the history) was...

1) export what was left of my working copy. It seems that everything was
deleted apart from any files I had modified (phew!)
2) delete the working copy and do cleanups and updates to make sure all is
happy
3) from the log window, revert to the revision before the delete
4) commit the new working copy (adds showed + indicating history was intact)
5) copy my exported files back into the working copy
6) commit the working copy
7) delete folders and files I had legitemately deleted
8) commit the working copy (taking special care that it does not try and
delete everything again!)

it seems that if I skipped step 4, svn thought that my modified files were
not versioned when I did step 6. So I did step 4 ;-)

>> Why did it do this?
>
> I've never heard of Subversion doing what you describe without being told
> to.

I'm presuming my "select all" enabled an action which overwrote all the
other actions. I am certain I had a large list of actions before I clicked
OK, and only one action got performed....delete all!!!!

Tigger

---------------------------------------------------------------------
To unsubscribe, e-mail: users-unsubscribe_at_tortoisesvn.tigris.org
For additional commands, e-mail: users-help_at_tortoisesvn.tigris.org
Received on 2008-03-12 02:53:03 CET

This is an archived mail posted to the TortoiseSVN Users mailing list.