[svn.haxx.se] · SVN Dev · SVN Users · SVN Org · TSVN Dev · TSVN Users · Subclipse Dev · Subclipse Users · this month's index

Re: Inadvertently deleted a folder

From: Andy Levy <andy.levy_at_gmail.com>
Date: Tue, 11 Mar 2008 07:51:08 -0400

On Tue, Mar 11, 2008 at 4:13 AM, Tigger <mccreath_at_bigfoot.com> wrote:
> I just committed quite a large update. I glanced over the change list and
> all looked fine, then clicked ok and went for a coffee.
>
> I came back to see that the commit had changed its mind, and instead of
> doing all the shown updates, it was deleting the folder they were all
> countained in!!!!
>
> Cancel did not work, so I ended up doing a commit that deleted a whole
> developement area!!!
>
> Luckily it did not remove the files from my local copy so I'm currenlty
> going throught the process of exporting, deleting, cleaning, re-importing to
> get things close to what they were.

Don't do this. You'll break you history. Instead do this:
http://svnbook.red-bean.com/en/1.4/svn.branchmerge.commonuses.html#svn.branchmerge.commonuses.resurrect

> Why did it do this?

I've never heard of Subversion doing what you describe without being told to.

---------------------------------------------------------------------
To unsubscribe, e-mail: users-unsubscribe_at_tortoisesvn.tigris.org
For additional commands, e-mail: users-help_at_tortoisesvn.tigris.org
Received on 2008-03-11 12:51:17 CET

This is an archived mail posted to the TortoiseSVN Users mailing list.