[svn.haxx.se] · SVN Dev · SVN Users · SVN Org · TSVN Dev · TSVN Users · Subclipse Dev · Subclipse Users · this month's index

RE: undo add before commit?

From: Scobie Smith <devcom_at_infinitiv.com>
Date: 2007-08-21 21:02:52 CEST

Thank you. Yes, revert is correct, and it leaves the files in place, but
undoes the add. I thought of revert at first, but thought it only applied to
what had been committed already.

Many thanks to both of you.
Scobie

(Sorry that the message quoting here is out of order....)

-----Original Message-----
From: Doucette, Charles [mailto:cdoucette@vaultus.com]
Sent: Tuesday, August 21, 2007 11:24 AM
To: users@tortoisesvn.tigris.org
Subject: RE: undo add before commit?

I'm pretty sure that a revert of an add command will leave the file or
directory in its original state - i.e. a regular file not under source
control (no icons), rather than deleted.

Chuck

> -----Original Message-----
> From: Steven Fisher [mailto:sflists@pyile.com]
> Sent: Tuesday, August 21, 2007 2:25 PM
> To: users@tortoisesvn.tigris.org
> Subject: Re: undo add before commit?
>
>
> On 21-Aug-2007, at 11:15 AM, Scobie Smith wrote:
>
> > (I'm new to Subversion and Tortoise.) I added several folders and
> > files to our repository. However, before I did a commit, I realized
> > that I included a lot of files that should not go in the repository
> > (like bin and obj folders). Is there a way to undo the add? I
> > proceeded to commit, but committed only the correct files
> (unchecked
> > bin, obj, etc.). So, I am left in a state where numerous files are
> > regarded as modified (to add), but I do not want to add or commit
> > these. I would like to undo the add, but this is before the commit.
> > Can I undo this? (Or do I need to commit, then delete from the
> > repository? I hope not, because it is a lot-and a delete
> leaves stuff
> > in the repository.)
>
> This got me a few times when I first started using svn. You
> want the Revert command, even though it doesn't seem like
> quite the right thing for this somehow.
>
> Be warned that the local files will be deleted as part of the
> revert.
> If you care about keeping any of these files (which you
> probably shouldn't, otherwise you'd want them in source
> control), make sure you copy them first.
> ---------------------------------------------------------------------
> To unsubscribe, e-mail: users-unsubscribe@tortoisesvn.tigris.org
> For additional commands, e-mail: users-help@tortoisesvn.tigris.org
>

---------------------------------------------------------------------
To unsubscribe, e-mail: users-unsubscribe@tortoisesvn.tigris.org
For additional commands, e-mail: users-help@tortoisesvn.tigris.org

---------------------------------------------------------------------
To unsubscribe, e-mail: users-unsubscribe@tortoisesvn.tigris.org
For additional commands, e-mail: users-help@tortoisesvn.tigris.org
Received on Tue Aug 21 21:00:24 2007

This is an archived mail posted to the TortoiseSVN Users mailing list.