[svn.haxx.se] · SVN Dev · SVN Users · SVN Org · TSVN Dev · TSVN Users · Subclipse Dev · Subclipse Users · this month's index

Re: Warning on cleanup command?

From: Simon Large <simon_at_skirridsystems.co.uk>
Date: 2006-07-16 23:46:52 CEST

Torgil Svensson wrote:
> I'm using svn to backup/version my archive PST file in Outlook. when I
> tried to commit last time it said that the archive was unclean and
> that I should use the "cleanup" option. I chose that optin and I
> thought it should do some cleanup on the meta-data. This was not the
> case, in fact it had reversed my working copy to the previous checked
> in state and all my newly archived mails were all gone.

Cleanup is implemented by the subversion library, not TSVN. If it is
damaging your working copy you should report that on the subversion
list. BUT first, cleanup is roght next to Revert in the TSVN menu. Are
you sure you didn't hit the wrong entry by mistake? Cleanup shows an
animation similar to the Windows file copy. Revert brings up a dialog
with a list of changed files. Which did you see?

> It looks to me that "Clean up" is a very dangerous command and
> "commit" shouldn't recommend it at all, rather propose some other way.
> The "clean up" command itself should definitely issue a big red
> warning before destroying the working copy!

Simon

-- 
        ___
   oo  // \\      "De Chelonian Mobile"
  (_,\/ \_/ \     TortoiseSVN
    \ \_/_\_/>    The coolest Interface to (Sub)Version Control
    /_/   \_\     http://tortoisesvn.tigris.org
---------------------------------------------------------------------
To unsubscribe, e-mail: users-unsubscribe@tortoisesvn.tigris.org
For additional commands, e-mail: users-help@tortoisesvn.tigris.org
Received on Sun Jul 16 23:46:16 2006

This is an archived mail posted to the TortoiseSVN Users mailing list.