[svn.haxx.se] · SVN Dev · SVN Users · SVN Org · TSVN Dev · TSVN Users · Subclipse Dev · Subclipse Users · this month's index

Re: Differences after automatic merge

From: Stefan KŁng <tortoisesvn_at_gmail.com>
Date: 2006-03-09 13:02:41 CET

On 3/9/06, Sven Kirchner <Sven.Kirchner@innomea.com> wrote:
> > When I do a TSVN Update and a file is being listed as 'merged', there
> > are two ways to show differences (tsvn 1.3.1):
> > First is to just double click the listview item. This gives me a diff
> > between my wc file and the .svn_base file.
> > If I right click the item and select "Compare with working copy", I
> get
> > a diff between an older repo revision (question: the one my wc was
> last
> > updated to?) and my working copy.

Yes, the revision the file was at before the update.

> > Can someone explain in detail what the exact difference (there
> obviously
> > is one) between those two comparisons is, and what it can be used for?

The doubleclick (diff between WC and BASE) is used to check your
modifications which aren't committed yet. After a merge, you can check
that way if the merge was "succesfull", i.e. if it didn't mess up your
file.

The "compare with working copy" is to check what modifications were
done by the merge, i.e. what the update changed (you can see the
changes others committed).

> > Btw: Isn't it kind of weird to have the "Compare with working copy"
> > context menu item in bold (implying it is the default) and having
> double
> > click doing something different?

I'll check that.

Stefan

--
       ___
  oo  // \\      "De Chelonian Mobile"
 (_,\/ \_/ \     TortoiseSVN
   \ \_/_\_/>    The coolest Interface to (Sub)Version Control
   /_/   \_\     http://tortoisesvn.tigris.org
---------------------------------------------------------------------
To unsubscribe, e-mail: users-unsubscribe@tortoisesvn.tigris.org
For additional commands, e-mail: users-help@tortoisesvn.tigris.org
Received on Thu Mar 9 13:03:12 2006

This is an archived mail posted to the TortoiseSVN Users mailing list.