[svn.haxx.se] · SVN Dev · SVN Users · SVN Org · TSVN Dev · TSVN Users · Subclipse Dev · Subclipse Users · this month's index

Re: [TSVN] Delete file from repository but not from working copies

From: Simon Large <simon_at_skirridsystems.co.uk>
Date: 2005-08-19 16:20:09 CEST

Daniel Buchholz wrote:
> Hi all!
>
> I have a file which accidentally went into the repository and into all
> working copies. It is a MSVS .user file if you need to know.
>
> How do I now delete this file from the repository *but not* from the working
> copies? If I say "delete" in TSVN it is deleted from the repository and all
> working copies. I just want this file to be no longer under version control.

Haven't we had this conversation twice today already?

In one of the WCs:
Move the local .user file somewhere safe (outside the WC).
Commit the WC, including the deletion of the missing file.
Move the file back.
Right click on the file and add to ignore list.

In all other WCs, when it is safe to update:
Copy the local .user file somewhere safe.
Update WC
Move the local .user file back

Simon

-- 
        ___
   oo  // \\      "De Chelonian Mobile"
  (_,\/ \_/ \     TortoiseSVN
    \ \_/_\_/>    The coolest Interface to (Sub)Version Control
    /_/   \_\     http://tortoisesvn.tigris.org
---------------------------------------------------------------------
To unsubscribe, e-mail: dev-unsubscribe@tortoisesvn.tigris.org
For additional commands, e-mail: dev-help@tortoisesvn.tigris.org
Received on Fri Aug 19 16:22:58 2005

This is an archived mail posted to the TortoiseSVN Dev mailing list.