[svn.haxx.se] · SVN Dev · SVN Users · SVN Org · TSVN Dev · TSVN Users · Subclipse Dev · Subclipse Users · this month's index

Re: [TSVN] Feature Request

From: Jens Hartmann <jh_at_profilsys.de>
Date: 2005-07-16 19:51:19 CEST

Hi Walter,

> Can you please explain your current "working pattern" with
> TortoiseSVN/Subversion? I can't understand why you'd always want to
> delete a WC immediately after you've made some changes and comitted.
> Where I work, I often have several working copies, which tend to stay
> there for the most part. I typically name the top level checked out
> folder to reflect what I'm working on in that checkout. Eventually,
> once it's been updated with other changes, its been tested etc, it
> gets committed into the repositry. At this point that working copy
> has served it purpose. However, I typically just keep it, or rename
> the working copy in respect of another task/item I might start working
> on, which saves me from having to do a fresh checkout again (it's a
> lot quicker to update an existing working copy to reflect the latest
> repo-state than to do a fresh checkoout from the repository,
> especially over slow links.) If I find after some time that I've got
> too many working copies lying around that's not being used, it's a
> simple Shift-Del in explorer to get rid of them. I don't see why this
> functionality needs to be duplicated in TSVN. (Which is why I ask
> what your current "working pattern" is - I'm wondering if this request
> is not based on some "misunderstanding" of how SVN and TSVN is meant
> to work, in which case it would be wrong to just add this feature to
> TSVN. )
>
> Best regards
>
> Walter Prins
>
>
>
>
Quoted from the original post:

> 1. Kill working copy after successfull comit.
> This should work as follows:
> a checkbox in the Commit-Dialog, that is normally unchecked
> when it is checked and the commit was successfull, then there had to
> appear a Messagebox: "Delete working copy" yes/no
> after clicking yes, the working copy will be deleted.

We dont want delete *always* the wc, but often, in the original post you
see that is only an option in the commit-dialog.
We are working with VB6 and after many problems with DLL and OCX, we
decided to work only with sources, not with binaries.
In our team the development and testing and implementation is splitted
on different persons. When i have the task to test a modul and
i fix some bugs in it, then i have to commit and delete it, because i
have no need to leave it on my PC. This is normal working cycle in
our team, sometimes i have to test 2 or more moduls per day.
We want less as possible sources on the PC, because everything is as
source and we often have to work at customers locations.

At least, to close this thread, we are very new to using subversion, so
it is possible that it was to early to request a feature like this!

Best regards

---------------------------------------------------------------------
To unsubscribe, e-mail: dev-unsubscribe@tortoisesvn.tigris.org
For additional commands, e-mail: dev-help@tortoisesvn.tigris.org
Received on Sat Jul 16 19:51:14 2005

This is an archived mail posted to the TortoiseSVN Dev mailing list.