[svn.haxx.se] · SVN Dev · SVN Users · SVN Org · TSVN Dev · TSVN Users · Subclipse Dev · Subclipse Users · this month's index

Re: Re: [TSVN] Feature Request

From: Walter Prins <prins_at_ananzi.co.za>
Date: 2005-07-16 16:32:51 CEST

Hi Jens,

>>> 1. Kill working copy after successfull comit.
>>> This should work as follows:
>>> a checkbox in the Commit-Dialog, that is normally unchecked
>>> when it is checked and the commit was successfull, then there had
>>> to
>>> appear a Messagebox: "Delete working copy" yes/no
>>> after clicking yes, the working copy will be deleted.
>>
>>
>> Why would you want to delete the working copy after a commit??? Honestly,
>> I can't even imagine a reason for this!
>>
>> Since I'm sure that you're the only one 'needing' this, I think it's not
>> too much to ask that you simple select the working copy in the explorer
>> and delete it manually.
>
> I think i am not the only one, who has the "need" for this feature. After
> finishing work on a wc you always have to delete it manually. Possibly it
> is only
> a "nice to have", but my colleagues ask for it.

Can you please explain your current "working pattern" with
TortoiseSVN/Subversion? I can't understand why you'd always want to delete
a WC immediately after you've made some changes and comitted. Where I work,
I often have several working copies, which tend to stay there for the most
part. I typically name the top level checked out folder to reflect what I'm
working on in that checkout. Eventually, once it's been updated with other
changes, its been tested etc, it gets committed into the repositry. At this
point that working copy has served it purpose. However, I typically just
keep it, or rename the working copy in respect of another task/item I might
start working on, which saves me from having to do a fresh checkout again
(it's a lot quicker to update an existing working copy to reflect the latest
repo-state than to do a fresh checkoout from the repository, especially over
slow links.) If I find after some time that I've got too many working
copies lying around that's not being used, it's a simple Shift-Del in
explorer to get rid of them. I don't see why this functionality needs to be
duplicated in TSVN. (Which is why I ask what your current "working pattern"
is - I'm wondering if this request is not based on some "misunderstanding"
of how SVN and TSVN is meant to work, in which case it would be wrong to
just add this feature to TSVN. )

Best regards

Walter Prins

-- 
No virus found in this outgoing message.
Checked by AVG Anti-Virus.
Version: 7.0.323 / Virus Database: 267.8.16/50 - Release Date: 15/07/2005
---------------------------------------------------------------------
To unsubscribe, e-mail: dev-unsubscribe@tortoisesvn.tigris.org
For additional commands, e-mail: dev-help@tortoisesvn.tigris.org
Received on Sat Jul 16 16:37:35 2005

This is an archived mail posted to the TortoiseSVN Dev mailing list.