[svn.haxx.se] · SVN Dev · SVN Users · SVN Org · TSVN Dev · TSVN Users · Subclipse Dev · Subclipse Users · this month's index

[TSVN] Re: stupid user (me!) - switch auto-updated repository - should it have?

From: Simon Large <slarge_at_blazepoint.co.uk>
Date: 2004-11-02 18:47:10 CET

Alan Jay Weiner wrote:
> But I'm guessing that what I did is normal behavior (and still will
> occur with latest) so I'm confused - seems like the repository was
> changed ("committed") when I wasn't expecting it to - and **without
> changing the revision number**. So I'm asking for clarification -
> what did I do wrong?

No, the repo is only changed when you commit (or do a copy/import
directly in the repository), and changes to the repo _always_ increment
the revision number.

> What I did was made a copy of foo/trunk (HEAD) to
> foo/branches/workonsomething
>
> No problem - created the branch fine:
> foo/trunk is revision 326
> foo/branches/workonsomething is revision 328
> (327 is on another project, btw)
>
> I'd already made lots of changes in my working copy; they're buggy,
> so I wanted to change so I'm working on a branch.
> Working copy was originally same as foo/trunk (HEAD).
>
> So I right-clicked in my working copy and used TSVN's "Switch"
> (my first mistake? should I have "relocated"?)

No definitely not! Newer versions of TSVN will warn you of dire
consequences if you relocate.

> Got a dialog with a list of changes (update, conflict, etc - but
> dismissed it too quickly so can't refer to it now). I *thought* it
> was informational - what's different between the branch and my
> working copy.

It was informational - it was telling you that the branch you switched
to was being merged into your WC _locally_, not in the repository.

> Instead it appears to have automagically changed the branch to look
> like my working copy - without a new revision number! The only
> thing not in the repository is a couple of new files.
> (I checked out a new copy of branch and diff'd - it's really changed)

Changed compared to what? Checkout the trunk and compare the newly
checked out trunk with the newly checked out branch. You should see no
changes.

What is in the repository is the unchanged branch. And if the branch was
the same as trunk, then there should not have been any conflicts when
you merged either, so essentially your WC content has not changed, but
it should be different from the repository, so you should see lots of
changed file overlays.

> Now I'm confused -
> should I have done a relocate instead of a switch?

Nonono!!

> I took relocate to mean switching the repository location;

Correct.

> does it work to switch the
> working copy's "baseline" from one revision to another?

No, you were right the first time. Use Switch to switch to a different
branch/revision.

> Why did the switch update the repository?

Look again. I'm sure it didn't!

Simon

---------------------------------------------------------------------
To unsubscribe, e-mail: dev-unsubscribe@tortoisesvn.tigris.org
For additional commands, e-mail: dev-help@tortoisesvn.tigris.org
Received on Tue Nov 2 18:48:01 2004

This is an archived mail posted to the TortoiseSVN Dev mailing list.