[svn.haxx.se] · SVN Dev · SVN Users · SVN Org · TSVN Dev · TSVN Users · Subclipse Dev · Subclipse Users · this month's index

[Subclipse-users] subclipse reverts on undo

From: Bernhard Fröhler <bernhard.froehler_at_gmx.at>
Date: Thu, 19 Jun 2008 03:57:40 +0200

Hi there,

I just recently found out that subclipse has a "feature" of which I
can't see the sense (and which, at a few times now, has caused terrible
annoyance for me):
When any file is open in Eclipse from a subversion-managed project and I
press Ctrl+Z for Undo, subclipse sometimes seems to feel responsible for
the handling of this shortcut (from my experiments I'd say that happens
if no changes have been made since this editor was opened, or all such
changes already have been undone); the thing subclipse then does is that
it executes an svn revert command on added and/or moved files! I find
this extremely irritating, especially in combination with the fact that
subclipse always uses the "force" option of subversion. The result is,
that files which I recently moved or added, might simply get deleted by
a simple Ctrl+Z, which so far in Eclipse (and any other Application I
know of) was a safe way to switch to previous versions - meaning that
there's also the possibility to return to the latest version again via a
Redo function. But in the described case, there is no return, once
you've hit Ctrl+Z - because Re-Do obviously doesn't work anymore with
these operations!
It also seems that just the last svn operation is undone, which needs
not necessarily have anything to do with the file currently opened in
the editor; this is against common application behaviour too.

I've searched the subclipse configuration & documentation and the
internet and, so far, haven't found any reference to this strange
behaviour (or if/how it can be turned off).

I see this behaviour as a bug, since there is not even a question for
confirmation before irrevocable change is done; and in the "Quick
Reference for Command Line Users" there's this big red warning sign
about the revert operation being not undoable; strangely enough the only
way to revert which is mentioned there is via the Team->Revert menu
entry. So maybe the Undo->Revert connection is not intended anyway? Can
someone please clarify this?

Yours sincerely,
Bernhard Fröhler

---------------------------------------------------------------------
To unsubscribe, e-mail: users-unsubscribe_at_subclipse.tigris.org
For additional commands, e-mail: users-help_at_subclipse.tigris.org
Received on 2008-06-19 03:57:51 CEST

This is an archived mail posted to the Subclipse Users mailing list.