[svn.haxx.se] · SVN Dev · SVN Users · SVN Org · TSVN Dev · TSVN Users · Subclipse Dev · Subclipse Users · this month's index

Re: [Subclipse-users] Remove followed by add of same file

From: Aaron Digulla <digulla_at_hepe.com>
Date: 2006-03-07 11:22:12 CET

Mark Phippard wrote:

> The more common use case for a delete is that the file is really meant
> to be deleted. In that scenario, this property can still work for you,
> it just is not ideal. For example, if you were to do an update, before
> doing a commit, I believe the update process may restore missing files.
> There is a way around this problem though. The Show Pending Operations
> view will show missing files, and for those files, there is a Mark as
> Deleted option available from that view which will run the svn delete
> command so that the delete is registered with Subversion. If you are
> going to use this feature, I would recommend that you either use this
> feature to mark your deletes, or commit the deletes soon.

So it basically comes again down to the problem that Synchronize Update
doesn't really sync but runs the standard SVN commands which have a
slightly different semantic. :-/

Can you please open an issue that "Update" in the sync view doesn't work
as expected?

Regards,

-- 
Aaron "Optimizer" Digulla a.k.a. Philmann Dark
"It's not the universe that's limited, it's our imagination.
Follow me and I'll show you something beyond the limits."
http://www.philmann-dark.de/
---------------------------------------------------------------------
To unsubscribe, e-mail: users-unsubscribe@subclipse.tigris.org
For additional commands, e-mail: users-help@subclipse.tigris.org
Received on Tue Mar 7 11:22:21 2006

This is an archived mail posted to the Subclipse Users mailing list.