[svn.haxx.se] · SVN Dev · SVN Users · SVN Org · TSVN Dev · TSVN Users · Subclipse Dev · Subclipse Users · this month's index

Re: NPE when trying to share project existing project

From: Mark Phippard <MarkP_at_softlanding.com>
Date: 2005-08-09 14:32:41 CEST

Řyvind Harboe <oyvind.harboe@zylin.com> wrote on 08/09/2005 03:17:19 AM:

> To reproduce the NPE below, I did the following:
>
> 1. Team->Disconnect on an existing project shared to a subversion
> repository. Delete all SVN meta information locally.
> 2. Team->Share on same project.
> 3. => NPE

There is an issue for this in the issue tracker. Unfortunately, I do not
think there will be any way to do what you ultimately want to do. There
are two changes I want to make:

1) When disconnecting a project, I think the dialog needs to make it
REALLY clear that if you delete the SVN meta information you will not be
able to share the project back to the repository.

2) When doing Team -> Share it currently allows you to specify an
existing folder and then pretends that it is going to allow you to use
Synchronize to share it again. I think this was all code copied over from
the CVS plugin. The reality is that due to the Subversion working copy
restrictions I cannot envision any way that could be made to actually
work. So the Team -> Share process needs to stop you at the point that
you are trying to share to an existing folder.

All you can do is checkout your project again. If you have local changes,
copy then somewhere and then copy them back after you checkout again.

Mark

_____________________________________________________________________________
Scanned for SoftLanding Systems, Inc. by IBM Email Security Management Services powered by MessageLabs.
_____________________________________________________________________________
Received on Tue Aug 9 22:32:41 2005

This is an archived mail posted to the Subclipse Users mailing list.

This site is subject to the Apache Privacy Policy and the Apache Public Forum Archive Policy.