[svn.haxx.se] · SVN Dev · SVN Users · SVN Org · TSVN Dev · TSVN Users · Subclipse Dev · Subclipse Users · this month's index

Re: svn commit: rev 1815 - trunk

From: Garrett Rooney <rooneg_at_electricjellyfish.net>
Date: 2002-04-29 00:53:13 CEST

On Sun, Apr 28, 2002 at 02:44:31PM -0700, Zack Weinberg wrote:
> On Sun, Apr 28, 2002 at 03:51:45PM -0500, Karl Fogel wrote:
> >
> > Zack, do you still want it, after lots of exposure to "svn log"
> > output? In the meantime, I've annotated the issue with some pointers
> > to code an implementor could swipe.
>
> I haven't been following SVN development as closely as I'd like in the
> past few months, so I haven't been exposed much to svn log output.
>
> However, I still want this feature, because it is useful to include
> changelogs as flat text in tarball distributions. It's also handy to
> be able to browse the changelog offline.

well, if you just want the logs to put in the tarball or to browse
offline, you can just run 'svn log' in the top of the tree and
redirect it's output to a file. if you want the output to look more
like a GNU ChangeLog, you can pipe it through this script:

(my perl is rusty, and i haven't tested this too much, but it seems to
mostly work...)

<script>
#!/usr/bin/perl -w

$dont_indent_next = 0;

%months = ( "Jan" => "01",
            "Feb" => "02",
            "Mar" => "03",
            "Apr" => "04",
            "May" => "05",
            "Jun" => "06",
            "Jul" => "07",
            "Aug" => "08",
            "Sep" => "09",
            "Oct" => "10",
            "Nov" => "11",
            "Dec" => "12", );

%hackers = ( "jimb" => 'Jim Blandy <jimb@redhat.com>',
             "sussman" => 'Ben Collins-Sussman <sussman@collab.net>',
             "kfogel" => 'Karl Fogel <kfogel@collab.net>',
             "gstein" => 'Greg Stein <gstein@lyra.org>',
             "brane" => 'Branko Cibej <brane@xbc.nu>',
             "joe" => 'Joe Orton <joe@light.plus.com>',
             "ghudson" => 'Greg Hudson <ghudson@mit.edu>',
             "lefty" => 'Lee P. W. Burgess <lefty@red-bean.com>',
             "fitz" => 'Brian Fitzpatrick <fitz@red-bean.com>',
             "mab" => 'Matthew Braithwaite <matt@braithwaite.net>',
             "daniel" => 'Daniel Stenberg <daniel@haxx.se>',
             "mmurphy" => 'Mark Murphy <mmurphy@collab.net>',
             "cmpilato" => 'C. Michael Pilato <cmpilato@collab.net>',
             "kevin" => 'Kevin Pilch-Bisson <kevin@pilch-bisson.net>',
             "philip" => 'Philip Martin <philip@codematters.co.uk>',
             "jerenkrantz" => 'Justin Erenkrantz <jerenkrantz@apache.org>',
             "rooneg" => 'Garrett Rooney <rooneg@electricjellyfish.net>',
             "bcollins" => 'Ben Collins <bcollins@debian.org>',
             "blair" => 'Blair Zajac <blair@orcaware.com>',
             "striker" => 'Sander Striker <striker@apache.org>',
             "XelaRellum" => 'Alexander Mueller <alex@littleblue.de>',
             "yoshiki" => 'Yoshiki Hayashi <yoshiki@xemacs.org>',
             "david" => 'David Summers <david@summersoft.fay.ar.us>',
             "rassilon" => 'Bill Tutt <rassilon@lyra.org>',
             "kbohling" => 'Kirby C. Bohling <kbohling@birddog.com>', );

while (<>) {
  if (/^-+$/) {
    $dont_indent_next = 1;
    print "$_";
  } elsif ($dont_indent_next) {
    $dont_indent_next = 0;

    @parts = split (/ /, $_);

    print "$parts[8]-$months{$parts[7]}-$parts[6] $hackers{$parts[3]}\n";
  } else {
    print "\t$_";
  }
}
</script>

-- 
garrett rooney                    Remember, any design flaw you're 
rooneg@electricjellyfish.net      sufficiently snide about becomes  
http://electricjellyfish.net/     a feature.       -- Dan Sugalski
---------------------------------------------------------------------
To unsubscribe, e-mail: dev-unsubscribe@subversion.tigris.org
For additional commands, e-mail: dev-help@subversion.tigris.org
Received on Mon Apr 29 00:54:10 2002

This is an archived mail posted to the Subversion Dev mailing list.