[svn.haxx.se] · SVN Dev · SVN Users · SVN Org · TSVN Dev · TSVN Users · Subclipse Dev · Subclipse Users · this month's index

Re: svn delete removes read-only files

From: Rick Varney <rick.varney_at_sbcglobal.net>
Date: Mon, 18 Nov 2013 16:50:42 +0000 (UTC)

Branko Čibej <brane <at> wandisco.com> writes:

>
> Maybe this behavior can be made optional, enabled via the
> configuration file?
>
> Changing client behaviour via config file options is almost always a
> bad idea ... every such option makes testing more complex and bug
> triage more time consuming.
> I'm not saying that there's no chance we'd ever change the way 'svn
> delete' behaves; I only stated some of the arguments against that,
> and there can certainly be other opinions. But we'd have to see some
> indication that the case you describe is actually moderately common.
> Frankly, I doubt it is; because mandatory locking isn't, in my
> experience, a very common workflow with Subversion.

I'm finding myself in agreement that such customizations are generally not a
good idea.

I would be interested to hear if others using a mandatory lock workflow have
felt this svn delete behavior is an issue.

Best regards,

Rick
Received on 2013-11-18 17:51:43 CET

This is an archived mail posted to the Subversion Users mailing list.