[svn.haxx.se] · SVN Dev · SVN Users · SVN Org · TSVN Dev · TSVN Users · Subclipse Dev · Subclipse Users · this month's index

2 users working on same file caused a change to be reverted rather than merged

From: Rupert Hunt <rupert_at_pagedevelopers.com>
Date: Sat, 14 Feb 2009 09:55:22 +0000

Hello

After a few months of using svn and everything behaving as it should do,
something happened yesterday that has totally undermined my confidence in
it:

There are 2 developers working on their own working copies, committing to a
remote server where the repository is held.

Yesterday, both were working on the same file.

Developer 1 added a few lines around line 10 but then changed his mind and
deleted them, but unintentionally left an extra line return in there meaning
the file was modified even if no different functionally.

Developer 2 commented out some lines around line 100 and added some
additional lines of code.

Developer 2 commits the change.

Developer 1 later commits, but instead of svn failing and returning the
usual out of date message or merging the 2 sets of changes, the commit
succeeds and overwrites Developer 2's changes. I.e the old lines were un
commented and the new lines removed.

Revision history confirms this sequence.

Does anyone know why this might have happened? The only unusual thing we
have discovered is that the server clock was 10 mins behind our local
clocks.

Many thanks for any help you can give

Rupert

------------------------------------------------------
http://subversion.tigris.org/ds/viewMessage.do?dsForumId=1065&dsMessageId=1156973

To unsubscribe from this discussion, e-mail: [users-unsubscribe_at_subversion.tigris.org].
Received on 2009-02-14 16:01:06 CET

This is an archived mail posted to the Subversion Users mailing list.