[svn.haxx.se] · SVN Dev · SVN Users · SVN Org · TSVN Dev · TSVN Users · Subclipse Dev · Subclipse Users · this month's index

Re: OS deletes and repo commits

From: Andy Levy <andy.levy_at_gmail.com>
Date: 2006-11-15 12:58:28 CET

On 11/15/06, Alan McDonald <alan@meta.com.au> wrote:
> I have a particular issue with people swapping between detailed view and
> thumbnail view in their file system. It seems that this process deletes
> thumbnails (when switching to details) and if they do not commit these
> deletions before switching back and re-creating the thumbs.db files, there
> is an annoying error in trying to add a file to the repo which already
> exists. My auto update then commit script does not bring the repo version
> othe thumbs.db file back to the working copy because the working copy
> database thinks it's already present, when it's not, but DOES think that the
> newly created thumbs.db file is a new addition instead of an update of an
> existing file. I thought at first it was a case problem but the OS (WinXP)
> always uses teh same case Thumbs.db for the file.

Don't version Thumbs.db in the first place. It's a system-generated
file. Don't even let people check it in (block it with a pre-commit
script) and rewrite your auto-commit script to ignore it as well.

---------------------------------------------------------------------
To unsubscribe, e-mail: users-unsubscribe@subversion.tigris.org
For additional commands, e-mail: users-help@subversion.tigris.org
Received on Wed Nov 15 12:59:24 2006

This is an archived mail posted to the Subversion Users mailing list.