[svn.haxx.se] · SVN Dev · SVN Users · SVN Org · TSVN Dev · TSVN Users · Subclipse Dev · Subclipse Users · this month's index

Re: Bug: svn revert annoys the user by behaving differently from all other commands

From: Nathan Maman <Nathan.Maman_at_free.fr>
Date: 2005-03-22 10:03:43 CET

Greetings,

Let me apologise first: I am new and just starting to use SubVersion.
I may be way off here.

What about renaming the command 'svn revert' to 'svn forget' (which is
exactly what it does)?

That way there will be no more question about "restoring" the forgotten
modifications.

Now to answer Marcus: the way you handle your modifications is probably
the key. Here is my "rule": think hard about those modifications: do I
really want to forget them forever? If yes, use "svn revert" without
thinking again. If unsure, copy them aside, "svn revert" and continue.
It is then up to me to remove when I need it the copied files.

I think that it is too complicated to have an automatic backup systems
that does not grow incredibly and that suits all the users needs.
Ideally, all users would want to be able to remove any file and say one
or two years later "I wish I could restore the file the way it was".

Nat

---------------------------------------------------------------------
To unsubscribe, e-mail: users-unsubscribe@subversion.tigris.org
For additional commands, e-mail: users-help@subversion.tigris.org
Received on Tue Mar 22 15:24:43 2005

This is an archived mail posted to the Subversion Users mailing list.