[svn.haxx.se] · SVN Dev · SVN Users · SVN Org · TSVN Dev · TSVN Users · Subclipse Dev · Subclipse Users · this month's index

Moving working copies after repository move

From: Sidney Cadot <cadot_at_science-and-technology.nl>
Date: 2004-08-20 12:09:47 CEST

Hi all,

Is there a convenient way to move working copies that users have
checked out, in case of a repository location move?

Case in point: I have a 1.7 GB repository with a considerable number of
working copies checked out. I would love to be able to take the old
repository location to a new place without having to specify a "sync
date" where all users are expected to have checked in all their
modifications, and to have each of them check out a fresh copy from the
new location.

Preferably, users would notice that svn access to the old repository
stops working, curse a bit, read their e-mail, find my sysop message,
type a command, and be able to continue their work.

I did a test-drive where I used a script to change the "url" spec in
all the ".svn/entries" files to a new location but then I got the
rather unhelpful message:

"svn: Can't recode string" (using subversion 1.0.6 on Debian/unstable)

Best regards,

   Sidney Cadot

---------------------------------------------------------------------
To unsubscribe, e-mail: users-unsubscribe@subversion.tigris.org
For additional commands, e-mail: users-help@subversion.tigris.org
Received on Fri Aug 20 16:36:23 2004

This is an archived mail posted to the Subversion Users mailing list.