[svn.haxx.se] · SVN Dev · SVN Users · SVN Org · TSVN Dev · TSVN Users · Subclipse Dev · Subclipse Users · this month's index

Re: How to undo a merge / conflict?

From: Tristan Seligmann <tristan_at_quotemaster.co.za>
Date: 2004-07-09 11:50:18 CEST

On Tue, Jul 06, 2004 at 02:19:25PM -0500, Ben Collins-Sussman wrote:
> It depends on the state of your file.
>
> * If your locally modified file received a clean merge ('svn status'
> reports it as just 'M'), then just 'svn up -rX' where X is the old
> version of the file. Your local mods will be preserved, whether
> back-dating or up-dating.

Not necessarily. If you made changes to r100, and someone else comitted
the same changes (or a subset thereof) in r101, then updating to r101
and then back to r100 will leave you with a working copy that does not
contain those changes or subset of changes. The same applies to
switching between branches, etc.

-- 
Tristan Seligmann
Developer / Network Administrator
---------------------------------------------------------------------
To unsubscribe, e-mail: users-unsubscribe@subversion.tigris.org
For additional commands, e-mail: users-help@subversion.tigris.org
Received on Fri Jul 9 11:50:47 2004

This is an archived mail posted to the Subversion Users mailing list.