[svn.haxx.se] · SVN Dev · SVN Users · SVN Org · TSVN Dev · TSVN Users · Subclipse Dev · Subclipse Users · this month's index

RE: Peculiar "feature" on SVN Export

From: Don Lucas <dlucas_at_dekaresearch.com>
Date: Wed, 18 Jun 2014 14:49:59 -0400

On 18.06.2014 16:21, Robert Schor wrote:
> I am attempting to Export a "copy of the Working Copy" to the Public
> Directory so users can "use", but not "commit", the code (we're in
> "testing" mode). I open the folder into which I want to commit,
> C:\Users\Public\Documents, right-click, and choose Export. The
> resulting dialog box shows the following: URL:
> https:\\nba-vcs\svn\TCC\S-Lab/trunk (this is the correct location of
> the repository for the S-Lab project). The Export directory, however,
> shows as C:\Users\Public\Documents\https:\nba-vcs\svn\TCC\S-Lab. I
> need to manually delete "https:\nba-vcs\svn\TCC", leaving S-Lab, and
> then it "does what I want", namely exports the S-Lab folder from the
> repository into a newly-created S-Lab folder in Public Documents.
>
> Why does Export add extra elements from repository URL? If I do an
> SVN Checkout instead of an Export, I do get the expected Checkout
> Directory of C:\Users\Public\Documents\S-Lab.

You might want to be aware that if you already have a working copy located in the desired location, you can convert it to the same as an exported copy by right clicking on the top level directory and selecting export. TortoiseSVN will then show a destination dialog box where you can navigate back to the same directory that you just right clicked on. When you hit OK, Tortoise realizes that you are trying to export a working copy to itself and it will then show a second dialog box asking you if you want to unversion this working copy. Click on "Remove from version control" and all of the control data in the working copy will be removed. After completion, the original working copy will then be just a simple exported copy of the data that others can use however they like.

Don't get too uptight about the wording of the button ("Remove from version control"), it could have been worded a little better. It does not actually remove anything from version control (i.e., the repository). It simply deletes the top level ".svn" directory so that it is no longer a working copy. This means that no one can accidentally make any commits from it.

Don

This e-mail and the information, including any attachments it contains, are intended to be a confidential communication only to the person or entity to whom it is addressed and may contain information that is privileged. If the reader of this message is not the intended recipient, you are hereby notified that any dissemination, distribution or copying of this communication is strictly prohibited. If you have received this communication in error, please immediately notify the sender and destroy the original message.

Thank you.

Please consider the environment before printing this email.

------------------------------------------------------
http://tortoisesvn.tigris.org/ds/viewMessage.do?dsForumId=4061&dsMessageId=3083534

To unsubscribe from this discussion, e-mail: [users-unsubscribe_at_tortoisesvn.tigris.org].
Received on 2014-06-18 20:50:05 CEST

This is an archived mail posted to the TortoiseSVN Users mailing list.