[svn.haxx.se] · SVN Dev · SVN Users · SVN Org · TSVN Dev · TSVN Users · Subclipse Dev · Subclipse Users · this month's index

Re: Preselect of Refresh shell overlays in Clean Up

From: Simon Large <simon.tortoisesvn_at_gmail.com>
Date: Wed, 30 Apr 2014 23:06:37 +0100

On 30 April 2014 20:11, Stefan Küng <tortoisesvn_at_gmail.com> wrote:
>
> On Wed, Apr 30, 2014 at 9:03 PM, Ben Fritz <fritzophrenic_at_gmail.com> wrote:
>>
>> On Wed, Apr 30, 2014 at 12:19 PM, Stefan Küng <tortoisesvn_at_gmail.com>
>> wrote:
>> > On 29.04.2014 23:22, Simon Large wrote:
>> >> On 29 April 2014 19:38, Stefan Küng <tortoisesvn_at_gmail.com> wrote:
>> >>> On 28.04.2014 16:22, George Stein wrote:
>> >>>> Is there any possibility to preselect the checkbox 'Refresh shell
>> >>>> overlays' in the 'Clean Up' command?
>> >>>>
>> >>>> Our users want to forcibly refresh the overlay icons and want to save
>> >>>> the additional click.
>> >>>>
>> >>>> As a first idea an advanced setting would do the trick for us.
>> >>>
>> >>> It's only one click, I'm sure that's not too much of a burden.
>> >>
>> >> Is there a reason why you would *not* want the overlays refreshed? Is
>> >> it an expensive operation? If not, why not just do it anyway?
>> >
>> > Yes, that's an expensive operation, and also one that most people don't
>> > want to have enabled by default if they just want to run a cleanup after
>> > an interrupted operation.
>> >
>>
>> My problem with that argument is that I almost always use Cleanup to
>> refresh the icons. It's fairly common for the icons to need
>> refreshing. It seems to be happen less frequently than it was in prior
>> releases though.
>>
>> I almost never have an interrupted operation. Why would that be a
>> common situation? Isn't that mostly just when things go awry while
>> communicating with the server? Maybe it's because I'm talking to a
>> repository on a nice corporate network, but it seems to me that should
>> not happen very often.
>>
>> I think the default selections should be for the most common uses of
>> that option.
>>
>
> No, a default should always be the safest option, not the most common one.
> If you do a delete in explorer, the default button in the confirmation
> dialog is not the "Yes" button (which would be the most common one) but the
> "No" button because that's the safe option.
>
> But how about this: I'll make the checkbox remember the last state, so if
> you use the cleanup dialog with that box checked, it will be checked the
> next time as well.

+1. My usage pattern is the same as Ben's and that would be a good solution.

Simon

------------------------------------------------------
http://tortoisesvn.tigris.org/ds/viewMessage.do?dsForumId=4061&dsMessageId=3077336

To unsubscribe from this discussion, e-mail: [users-unsubscribe_at_tortoisesvn.tigris.org].
Received on 2014-05-01 00:06:44 CEST

This is an archived mail posted to the TortoiseSVN Users mailing list.