[svn.haxx.se] · SVN Dev · SVN Users · SVN Org · TSVN Dev · TSVN Users · Subclipse Dev · Subclipse Users · this month's index

Re: Preselect of Refresh shell overlays in Clean Up

From: Stefan Küng <tortoisesvn_at_gmail.com>
Date: Wed, 30 Apr 2014 21:11:09 +0200

On Wed, Apr 30, 2014 at 9:03 PM, Ben Fritz <fritzophrenic_at_gmail.com> wrote:

> On Wed, Apr 30, 2014 at 12:19 PM, Stefan Küng <tortoisesvn_at_gmail.com>
> wrote:
> > On 29.04.2014 23:22, Simon Large wrote:
> >> On 29 April 2014 19:38, Stefan Küng <tortoisesvn_at_gmail.com> wrote:
> >>> On 28.04.2014 16:22, George Stein wrote:
> >>>> Is there any possibility to preselect the checkbox 'Refresh shell
> overlays' in the 'Clean Up' command?
> >>>>
> >>>> Our users want to forcibly refresh the overlay icons and want to save
> the additional click.
> >>>>
> >>>> As a first idea an advanced setting would do the trick for us.
> >>>
> >>> It's only one click, I'm sure that's not too much of a burden.
> >>
> >> Is there a reason why you would *not* want the overlays refreshed? Is
> >> it an expensive operation? If not, why not just do it anyway?
> >
> > Yes, that's an expensive operation, and also one that most people don't
> > want to have enabled by default if they just want to run a cleanup after
> > an interrupted operation.
> >
>
> My problem with that argument is that I almost always use Cleanup to
> refresh the icons. It's fairly common for the icons to need
> refreshing. It seems to be happen less frequently than it was in prior
> releases though.
>
> I almost never have an interrupted operation. Why would that be a
> common situation? Isn't that mostly just when things go awry while
> communicating with the server? Maybe it's because I'm talking to a
> repository on a nice corporate network, but it seems to me that should
> not happen very often.
>
> I think the default selections should be for the most common uses of
> that option.
>
>
No, a default should always be the safest option, not the most common one.
If you do a delete in explorer, the default button in the confirmation
dialog is not the "Yes" button (which would be the most common one) but the
"No" button because that's the safe option.

But how about this: I'll make the checkbox remember the last state, so if
you use the cleanup dialog with that box checked, it will be checked the
next time as well.

Stefan

-- 
       ___
  oo  // \\      "De Chelonian Mobile"
 (_,\/ \_/ \     TortoiseSVN
   \ \_/_\_/>    The coolest Interface to (Sub)Version Control
   /_/   \_\     http://tortoisesvn.net
------------------------------------------------------
http://tortoisesvn.tigris.org/ds/viewMessage.do?dsForumId=4061&dsMessageId=3077330
To unsubscribe from this discussion, e-mail: [users-unsubscribe_at_tortoisesvn.tigris.org].
Received on 2014-04-30 21:11:34 CEST

This is an archived mail posted to the TortoiseSVN Users mailing list.