[svn.haxx.se] · SVN Dev · SVN Users · SVN Org · TSVN Dev · TSVN Users · Subclipse Dev · Subclipse Users · this month's index

Working copy corrupted by branch deletion

From: Maxwell Ballenger <mballenger_at_spacex.com>
Date: Tue, 8 Jan 2013 09:53:05 -0800 (PST)

We just recently upgraded from TortoiseSVN 1.6.x to 1.7.10. We noticed some new behavior when deleting a branch that has caused us some headaches:

1. Branch a subfolder of your working copy
2. Switch that subfolder onto that branch
3. Delete that branch using another working copy or the repo-browser
4. Update your working copy
5. That subfolder disappears. There is no way to recover that subfolder and have your working copy match the trunk again without doing a fresh checkout.

I do think it is best practice to make sure all working copies have been switched off of a branch before deleting that branch, but this happens occasionally, and in TortoiseSVN 1.6.x, it was much easier to recover from. Commanding a switch of a parent folder to trunk would restore the missing subfolder.

Is this intended behavior, or could it qualify for a bug fix? Does anyone know of a faster way to recover than a fresh checkout?

Thanks!

Max

------------------------------------------------------
http://tortoisesvn.tigris.org/ds/viewMessage.do?dsForumId=4061&dsMessageId=3041874

To unsubscribe from this discussion, e-mail: [users-unsubscribe_at_tortoisesvn.tigris.org].
Received on 2013-01-08 18:58:33 CET

This is an archived mail posted to the TortoiseSVN Users mailing list.