[svn.haxx.se] · SVN Dev · SVN Users · SVN Org · TSVN Dev · TSVN Users · Subclipse Dev · Subclipse Users · this month's index

Re: BUG: Record Only Merge modified Working Copy

From: Stefan Küng <tortoisesvn_at_gmail.com>
Date: Wed, 27 Aug 2008 17:41:33 +0200

object01 wrote:
>
> Stefan Küng wrote:
>> Fixed in r13400.
>>
>> Stefan
>>
>
> I'm still having this issue in 1.5.2 (build 13595, 2008/07/31) on Windows
> Vista SP1. I'm trying to perform a reintegrate merge to sync a branch with
> the trunk (reintegrate FROM trunk TO branch).
>
> Despite checking "Only record the merge", TortoiseSVN modifies the working
> copy located at P:\myWcs\branch\subfolder.

You misunderstand the option. "Only record the merge" means: do the
merge without modifying the contents of the files, but record the merge
as if it really has happened. That means the svn:mergeinfo properties
are modified, as well as the merge tracking db on the server.
This is used to mark revisions as merged so they won't get merged again
in the future without actually doing the merge.
A common use case is to block revisions from getting merged.

What you may want to do it to use the "Test merge" button instead.

Stefan

-- 
       ___
  oo  // \\      "De Chelonian Mobile"
 (_,\/ \_/ \     TortoiseSVN
   \ \_/_\_/>    The coolest Interface to (Sub)Version Control
   /_/   \_\     http://tortoisesvn.net

Received on 2008-08-27 17:41:55 CEST

This is an archived mail posted to the TortoiseSVN Users mailing list.