[svn.haxx.se] · SVN Dev · SVN Users · SVN Org · TSVN Dev · TSVN Users · Subclipse Dev · Subclipse Users · this month's index

re: revision-log dialog

From: Kari Grano <kari.grano_at_gmail.com>
Date: Mon, 4 Aug 2008 19:07:27 +0300

Jac <skobbejac_at_gmail.com> wrote:

> In the revision-log dialog of TortoiseSVN, what exactly is the
> difference between the “Update item to revision” and the “Revert to
> this revision” options? Under which circumstances should which option
> be used?

The "Update item to revision" command changes the working copy version of an
item to the selected revision. It leaves the working copy unchanged.
Typically you'd use it e.g. when trying to reproduce a problem found in an
older version of your software (in that case the revision might be a tag for
a past release). Think of it as the "time machine" option.

The "Revert to this revision" command is used for rolling back a set of
revisions that were already committed to the repository. For example, with
revision 123 selected the command does a reverse merge of revisions
HEAD..124, removing from the working copy all changes done in these
revisions. The command leaves the merge results in your working copy, which
gets modified. In order to finish the rollback, you should recompile and
test the software and then commit the changes to the repository, typically
accompanied with a log message such as "Rolled back changes in revisions
124-345" (assuming HEAD=345).

HTH,
Kari

---------------------------------------------------------------------
To unsubscribe, e-mail: users-unsubscribe_at_tortoisesvn.tigris.org
For additional commands, e-mail: users-help_at_tortoisesvn.tigris.org
Received on 2008-08-04 18:14:31 CEST

This is an archived mail posted to the TortoiseSVN Users mailing list.