[svn.haxx.se] · SVN Dev · SVN Users · SVN Org · TSVN Dev · TSVN Users · Subclipse Dev · Subclipse Users · this month's index

RE: ShowLog dialog and revert

From: Larry Marshall <lcm_at_marshap.com>
Date: Sun, 27 Jul 2008 07:17:04 -0700

Simon,

 

Thanks for being the voice of reason.

 

I think I'm still confused about which Revert to use. If I want to revert
only a single file, which one should I use, "Revert to this revision" or
"Revert changes from this revision"?

 

When the original problem occurred, I realized I had trouble when I saw the
files reverted list showing in the dialog box. If I don't panic, how can I
know exactly which files were effected so that I can revert them back to the
way they were?

 

Thanks, Lars

 

-----Original Message-----

From: Simon Large [mailto:simon.tortoisesvn_at_googlemail.com]

Sent: Saturday, July 26, 2008 4:22 PM

To: users_at_tortoisesvn.tigris.org

Subject: Re: ShowLog dialog and revert

 

2008/7/26 Larry Marshall <lcm_at_marshap.com>:

> I am a new user of TSVN, using it with VS 2008 on an XP SP3 system. I

> had made some changes to a single file. I needed to revert this file

> back about

> 4 revisions. I went into the Show Log dialog and unfortunately

> selected "Revert to this revision". To my horror, it reverted the

> entire repo to the selected revision. Evidently I should have selected

> "Revert changes from this revision".

 

No, I think you were right the first time, but you should show the log for
just the file you want to revert.

 

You need to distinguish between the working copy and the repository.

The command you ran just changed your working copy. To undo that change you
could have used 'revert' (yes I know that sounds contrary) to get it back to
the state it was in on the last update.

 

Nothing changes in the repository until you 'commit' your local changes.

 

> My corrective approach was to shut down svnserve and restore the

> previous night's backup. But there must be a more effective way to

> recover from this poor choice of "reverts". Can anyone point me in that
direction?

 

First of all, DON'T PANIC. This is a revision control system. Nothing is
lost forever.

 

Even if you did commit the change, you can undo it - this is a version
control system after all. Again, show log for the same directory as you did
before, select the last erroneous commit and 'revert changes from this
revision'. That wil put your working copy back to the way it was, and you
can then re-commit.

 

Simon

 

--
: ___
: oo // \\ "De Chelonian Mobile"
: (_,\/ \_/ \ TortoiseSVN
: \ \_/_\_/> The coolest Interface to (Sub)Version Control
: /_/ \_\ http://tortoisesvn.net
 
---------------------------------------------------------------------
To unsubscribe, e-mail: users-unsubscribe_at_tortoisesvn.tigris.org
For additional commands, e-mail: users-help_at_tortoisesvn.tigris.org
 
 
Received on 2008-07-27 16:26:18 CEST

This is an archived mail posted to the TortoiseSVN Users mailing list.