[svn.haxx.se] · SVN Dev · SVN Users · SVN Org · TSVN Dev · TSVN Users · Subclipse Dev · Subclipse Users · this month's index

Re: Configuring so there is a different authentication for reading and writing

From: Andy Levy <andy.levy_at_gmail.com>
Date: Fri, 20 Jun 2008 13:23:20 -0400

On Fri, Jun 20, 2008 at 1:18 PM, Bruce Gough <bruce_at_ijws.com> wrote:
> How do I configure my server so I can use one authentication for read and
> another for write?

As is noted in the email you quoted, this is a *server* configuration
issue, not TSVN. You really should be asking on
users_at_subersion.tigris.org

> See below for the thread from last September. We did get things to work with
> read vs write with collabnet. When attempting to commit on the read only
> account, it returns HTTP 401 which caused tortoise to ask for the username
> and password, and I entered the account with write access. So that worked
> fine.
>
> Now we use just Apache with subversion over WebDAV (due to company switch to
> jira), and use mod_authnz_svn module for access control. Now on a commit
> when read only account is saved, it comes back with HTTP 403 (forbidden) and
> tortoise just boings and complains and does ask for new credentials.
>
> How do I make this work the way it did before? We could change
> mod_authnz_svn to return 401 instead of 403, but we don't want to maintain a
> vendor branch for our branch tracking system...
>
> Help!
>
> We are running Subversion 1.4.6, latest tortoise clients.
>
>
>
>
> Re: Feature Request: Allow "save authentication" for reading and writing
> separately
> Bruce Gough wrote:
>>
>>
>> Stefan Küng wrote:
>>>
>>> Bruce Gough wrote:
>>>>
>>>> Feature Request: Allow "save authentication" for reading and writing
>>>> separately
>>>>
>>>> I have been using tortoiseSVN for a couple of years, and it works great.
>>>> To avoid mistakes, I leave my client configured so that I must authenticate
>>>> every time I access the repository. I have avoided doing "update" or
>>>> completing the commit dialog by mistake more than once.
>>>>
>>>> My only problem with this is when I am doing activities like "check for
>>>> modifications", then I click "Check repository", it does an authentication
>>>> step. Then if I want to double click any file in the list of changed files
>>>> and see the differences, it does another authentication each time I double
>>>> click another file in the list of changed files.. Each one has the "save
>>>> authentication" checkbox, but I think that checking it would save the
>>>> authentication and use it for all authentication steps.
>>>>
>>>> I have worked around this by checking the box, then later going into the
>>>> settings and setting it back to requesting authentication.
>>>>
>>>> It might be a bug for the specific case where I have checked for
>>>> modifications, then must authenticate for each file on which I want to view
>>>> the differences. It seems like it should not be necessary then.
>>>>
>>>> One possible way to improve this could be to have a separate flag for
>>>> "read" type operations vs. "write" type operations. Even though the diff of
>>>> modifications could allow writing a merged file, that would not update the
>>>> repository so it would count as a read operation.
>>>
>>> That feature is already implemented :)
>>> You have to configure your server accordingly.
>>>
>>> Either configure the 'read' operations to not require authentication at
>>> all (anonymous access) and only require authentication for the write
>>> operations, or you could set up two different users, one which has only read
>>> access (but still needs to authenticate, and for which you then store/save
>>> the authentication data), and another one with write access (for which you
>>> won't store/save the authentication data).
>>>
>>> Stefan
>>>
>>>
>> Thank you for responding.
>>
>> We use collabnet authentication with subversion, and are at about 6
>> developers. Doubling the users would come close to the license limit. My
>> admin does not like the idea of anonymous access. It sounds like the saved
>> authentication would fail, then it would come back with the prompt.
>>
>>
>>
>>
>
> ---------------------------------------------------------------------
> To unsubscribe, e-mail: users-unsubscribe_at_tortoisesvn.tigris.org
> For additional commands, e-mail: users-help_at_tortoisesvn.tigris.org
>
>

---------------------------------------------------------------------
To unsubscribe, e-mail: users-unsubscribe_at_tortoisesvn.tigris.org
For additional commands, e-mail: users-help_at_tortoisesvn.tigris.org
Received on 2008-06-20 19:23:29 CEST

This is an archived mail posted to the TortoiseSVN Users mailing list.